Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia, MD

Great location, clean, modern, comfortable

Posted May 24, 2016
Very nice and comfortable hotel with a good location close to shopping, museum and downtown commercial district. Decor was very modern with lots of Windows with natural light. Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet even though the hotel is located on a major street and my room was on the second floor facing that street. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for Essen Spiel

Posted Oct 12, 2015
We booked this hotel on a whim as we booked late and didn't have many options, however our stay was so good this is now the hotel we are booking for Essen Spiel 2016 and will probably book every year. The rooms are clean and modern, the staff are extremely friendly and would go out of their way for us regularly, there was ample room for gaming each evening, a lovely bar area, the breakfast was absolutely amazing (hot and cold food, all great quality and an amazing variety) and the price was unbelievable for the value we received. Combine that with the fact it is about a 5 minute walk from the underground to get straight to the Messe, and the fact there are ample places to eat within a 5 minute walk, and we couldn't really fault it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing facilities & comfort

Posted Jul 10, 2015
The air conditioning would not cool very well. The swimming pool is actually part of a fitness center next door. Parking is very expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Modern hotel in a good location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Part of the Accor Group. The hotel and our room were up to the Mercure standard - clean and well maintained. The staff were attentive and helpful
Cons: The downside to our stay was the uncontrollable room temperature - way too hot and this at the end of October
Location: Next to the Folkswang Museum and near the Philharmonie. Fifteen minute walk from the Hbf. A short walk further on there are local shops and eateries
A pleasant stay in a modern and well located hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Cons: opening times of pool
Location: close to city centre and old town essen
very plesant stay with friendly staff , more than helpfull and a very warm welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Spacious rooms, high quality of cleanliness. great staff.
Cons: tea/coffee making facilities in room.
great hotel. very friendly, courteous staff and spacious comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast selections. Would definitely use this hotel for my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 24, 2011
Lovely hotel right next door to the Folkwang art museum. Only downside is the restaurant belongs to a residential home for the elderly and last sitting is at 19.15. Food is ok if you like school dinner type of food. The hotel does however serve very nice food at the bar till 22.30 although some things may run out before then. Pizza was enormous! The pool is also owned by the home rather than the hotel and is only available for a few hours a day. Very friendly staff, wonderful breakfast- best I've ever had. Bar staff very friendly and obliging especially one lovely man who stayed open till late for us. I wish I had his name so I could commend him to the manager. The cleaning staff were a bit grumpy when we weren't out of the room early in the mornings so they could clean. They actually started hoovering my friends room while she was still in it! We had couple of other minor issues with the domestic staff however this was quickly rectified once pointed out. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with air con in every room, kettles and bathrobes can be provided if requested - they don't come as standard. Would rather have a shower screen than a damp curtain though and fan wasn't very effective so it got very steamy in there! Despite this I highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay again, the local high street and Gruga Park are within a short walk and the city centre is only 10 mins or so away. Thank you Mercure for a wonderful long weekend break!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Niedersachsen

Hotel ist zu empfehlen

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Siehe oben - alles - und das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis ist als hervorragend zu bezeichnen
Cons: ./.
Location: Ca. 1 km von der Innenstadt entfernt - also kein Problem, wenn man nicht mobilitätseingeschränkt ist.
Das Hotel ist ca. 1 km von der Innenstadt entfernt, modern, offen, hell und freundlich eingerichtet. Alle Hotelbediensteten waren ausgesprochen höflich, zuvorkommend und äußerst hilfsbereit und die Reinigung meines Einzelzimmers - welches durchaus als geräumig zu bezeichnen ist - kann ich als hervorragend bewerten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel ist in einem Top - Zustand!

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Das sehr freundliche Personal - hat man so, selten!!!
Location: 20 Gehminuten von der Messe entfernt.
Alle Bereiche im Hotel waren in einem super Zustand. Zur Messe in Essen waren es zu Fuß nur ca. 20 min. zu Fuß, also für uns Optimal gelegen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lübeck

Empfehlung eines Tollen Hotels.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Mitarbeiter sehr freundlich und zukommt. Schönes Ambiente mit Parkplatz gleich im Hause und einer Bar zum entspannen am Abend. Besuch jeder Zeit wieder...