Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jenny

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Hallo Jenny, lieben Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung. Wir freuen uns über Ihre 5 Sterne und hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Ihre Nicole Wener, Hotel Manager und das Motel One Essen Team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, walking distance to train station

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Cons: Breakfast fee could be charged - after you have either planned or had the breakfast, and not at initial check in
Great hotel, and room. However, the staff is too eager to charge you the optional breakfast fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Nicole Werner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great review of the hotel. At Motel One you pay your bill directly upon check-in. So you safe a lot of time at the departure day. As there are no extra charges you just have to leave your key card at the Front desk. That is why we ask for breakfast upon check-in. Of course you can decide for the breakfast later on an extra bill. Our Agents just want to make it as comfortable for you as you like. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and really looking forward to welcome you at a Motel One again. Kind regards, Nicole Werner, Hotel Manager & Motel One Essen Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice. No-frills. Affordable.

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff! Very friendly and helpful. The simple room had a comfortable double bed. I didn't see a kettle, mugs, or fridge. Cable tv with channels in multiple languages. The bathroom was a little on the small size, but had everything one needs. Good shower. Soap and body wash provided, but they aren't great quality. I didn't have the breakfast in the morning, but it seemed a good price and quality. Overall - very positive. Perfect if you just need a place to lay your head. If you're looking for a luxury suite, keep looking. I will be staying here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Nicole Werner, Hotel Manager & Motel One Essen Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was great, very helpful and had a wonderful energy! The details around the hotel are great, the breakfast was amazing, my only complaint is the bed was stiff and the comforter was too small for the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great review of your stay. We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again. Kind regards, Nicole Werner, Hotel Manager & Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Susie's tours

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
We all had a fabulous stay and would definitely visit again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Dear Susie, Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and remain with kind regards, Nicole Werner, Hotel Manager & the Motel-One-Essen-Team!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Consistently high standards at a good price

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Location Cleanliness Helpful staff
Cons: Breakfast a bit pricey when there are other options nearby.
I've staying in this hotel a handful of times now and I really cannot fault the consistently high levels of service. This hotel itself is in a good central location and the rooms are modern and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2015 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Nicole W.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2015 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, thank you for your review!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic but functional

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed here for 2 nights to watch the Schalke v Chelsea football match. The location of the hotel is very good and there are lots of shops nearby and at this time of the year a big German market just outside the hotel. This hotel is clearly aimed at the business traveller. The room was very modern but quite small and lacked a lot of features I'd expect. There was no safe or mini fridge for example. Breakfast was automatically added to the bill, and much like the room, it seemed like a small selection though in fairness perfectly adequate. Overall it was a good stay for a short duration, but I'd be tempted to see if a different hotel offered better value for a future visit. (Room cost approx 75 euros per night)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

city centre location

Posted Nov 20, 2014
right next to the square where the Xmas market and shopping is, underground car park not part of hotel but only €10 overnight
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Nicole Werner