Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Londonderry

Decent hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Cannot say much because I stayed just one night. The room was nice, clean of good size with bathroom. Unfortunately I was guided by Expedia app to the wrong location and I had to waste extra half an hour to got the right place with a help of very nice and good looking receptionist by the way. Overall pleasant night.
4 out of 5
by Boris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills and gets the job done.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Minimal, but meet the basic needs. If your after no frills it's perfectly fine. They said it's a non-smoking property, by the room was smelling of old smoke. The smell disapated after leaving the window open for an hour, complained about it, but nothing was done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Very clean, quiet and friendly staff, very close to tram station
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IZMIR, TURKEY

Don't stay there.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Change all the staff
I am a world traveller, and stay at least 5 months abroad and never meet arrogant and malicious staff like in this hotel before. The reception guy was from second world war's Germany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Kollak

Solo short stay

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on HotelClub
Staff friendly, helpfull and welcoming. Stiftkirche St. Nikolaus (catholic church) across the main road. Drinks available in the small bar, but no Restaurant in the Hotel. Turkish, Italien, Greek, German and Chinese Restaurants all within easy wallking distance. Breakfast Buffet well varied. There are interesting sight-seeing venues and Museums closely situated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for business travel.

Posted Jan 31, 2013
Pros: Clean and practical.
Location: Convenient to public transport.
Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, great price. Rooms, although small were very clean and practical. Very convenient to public transport to and out of down-town Essen. Excellent restaurant close by, at walking distance, I would recommend- 'Zur Alten Post', Ernestinenstrase 31, traditional German fare. No credit cards in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Koblenz

Sehr enttäuscht!!

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Wir hatten 2 Übernachtungen für 2 Pers. gebucht. Doppelbettzimmer. Das ganze hatte uns knapp 280 Euro gekostet. Ich denke für den Preis darf man schon etwas erwarten. Aber das war leider nichts. Das einzigste was positiv war: es war alles sauber und das Personal sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Aber das Zimmer!!!!!!!!!! Wo soll ich anfangen????? Das Zimmer war zum einen arg klein; es gab keinen Schrank für die Kleidung , nur offene Regale; es waren zwei Einzelbetten anstatt eines Doppelbetts, die bei der kleinsten Bewegung direkt verrutschten. An der gegenüberliegenden Wand war ein schiefes Bild und fast direkt davor ein an der Wand montierter Fernseher den man vorziehen konnte. Wozu ein Bild direkt hinter dem Fernseher wenn man es sowieso kaum sieht. Kleinere Flecken am unteren Rand der besagten Wand. Aber das schlimmste war das Bad. Sehr sehr klein. Rechts in der Ecke eine ebenerdige Dusche mit Duschvorhang. Direkt links nah dran war die Toilette. Das heißt wenn jemand am Duschen war konnte man nicht auf Toilette gehn sonst gabs nasse Füße. Auch der Toilettenpapierhalter war so dicht dran das er automatisch nass wurde beim Duschen. Die Dusche selbst war ordentlich machte aber ständig pfeifende Geräusche sobald das Wasser lief. Handtuchhalter gab es auch keine, nur ein kleiner Haken an der Tür. Seifenspender funktionierte nicht. Anstatt eines festen Zahnputzbechers oder Glases nur einfache Plastikbecher. Kurz gesagt; viel zu teuer für so eine schlechte Einrichtung!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by S. Wiebels, Hotel Management
Lieber Anja, vielen Dank für die Schilderung Ihrer Eindrücke von unserem Hotel. Es tut mir und dem Team aufrichtig leid, dass unsere Leistung und unser Angebot so durchwachsen und allenfalls durchschnittlich gewesen ist. Ziel ist es, uns weiter zu verbessern und wir sind sehr dankbar für jede Anregung. Auch die Ausstattung und Einrichtung werden laufend überprüft und an neuen, innovativen Konzepten gefeilt. Gerne würde ich Ihnen unsere sieben weiteren Hotels in und um Essen ans Herz legen, die in Ausstattung, Einrichtung und Zimmergröße alle unterschiedlich sind. Wir bei Petul haben die einzigartige Möglichkeit uns hier ganz nach den Wünschen unserer Gäste zu richten. Bitte zögern Sie nicht uns jederzeit zu kontaktieren. Ich hoffe, dass wir Sie in Zukunft hiervon überzeugen dürfen. „Glück auf“ aus der Mitte des Ruhrgebiets in der Metropole Rhein/Ruhr Ihr Petul-Team Sarah Wiebels Reputation Management