Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was excellent, perfectly placed for getting to and from the train station. However the room was extremely hot due to the weather and could have benefitted from a fan/air con
5 out of 5
by alain

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Martin from Woking, UK

Convenient location

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good value including breakfast. Ideal for short stay and very close to the main rail station.
4 out of 5
by JOSEPH from KEERBERGEN BELGIUM

Excellent quality for a reasonable prize -

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed one night in the Essenerhof Hotel, but were very pleased with the service received : a large and neat room, a very small bathroom however; excellent breakfast with a lot of choices; friendly staff and a very good price (probably a special weekend price) Would definitely like to return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Ideal location. Clean. Great receptionist

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: We liked everything about it. The hotel was established about 130 years ago as a family hotel, and it seems to be run that way.
Location: It's within walking distance of the cathedral and its spectacular Treasury (Domschatz) but you need transportation to get to other major sights.
The hotel is ideally located for business travelers and tourists. It's opposite the main railway station. You can avoid crossing the wide street there by exiting at the City side of the station and going down an escalator marked Willy Brandt Platz. Bear right toward the end of the tunnel and you will be in front of the hotel. The receptionist was exceptionally courteous and helpful with directions about opening hours of major sights, tram and bus and train lines to reach the sites, and other useful information. The hotel dining room is attractive and, like the rest of the hotel, sparkling clean. The room was of adequate size for two people, the beds were comfortable, there was desk space and free Wi-Fi, a shower with a glass enclosure and good water pressure. In short, it was an excellent place to stay. We didn't take the hotel's breakfast, as it seemed rather expensive for people who eat just juice, toast, and coffee, but it's probably a good buffet if its standard matches everything else. We found what we needed for breakfast at the railway station via that handy tunnel. We would certainly use this hotel again on a later trip.
4 out of 5
by Bob from Stockport

Good value

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is well situated very close to the main station and transport hub and at the end of the main shopping street. Plenty of places to eat and drink close by. Free wifi in the room, safe in the room and spotlessly clean. The hotel is however a bit dull with no atmosphere when I stayed. Rooms are a little austere, in keeping with many German hotels, however you have everything you need and staff are friendly. Decent buffet breakfast too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

That was fine.

Posted Nov 12, 2012
It was quiet and comfortable, and very close to the central railway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

GO BACK ANYTIME

Posted Apr 29, 2011
Excellent hotel, centre of ESSEN, across the road from train station, some minor noise on lower floors, all the rooms all have been upgraded, very clean, well stocked mini bar and all bathroom soaps, shampoo and body lotion there. Breakfast good at Euro 15 per person per night, even if a little pricy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

litle beauty

Posted Apr 6, 2011
i was pleasently surprised with that hotel situated in the center of town close to shopping fine dining and the nightly entertainment public transpotation just halve a block the hotel very elegant the room modern super clean the restaurantvery fine dining if i have to go back tothis town i sure will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Convinient and Comfort

Posted May 21, 2007
Great hotel close to railway station and all the main attractions of central Essen.Good resturant.