Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient location. Business travel hotel.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Rooms are clean & simple, if a little cramped. Restaurant is good. Only one thin pillow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Hotel in Essen, it is really a Welcome Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The restaurant, the elevator was always available.The washroom had everything you need.
Cons: Everything was fantastic
Location: A tram station is in the same block. Location is great
Super clean. In the washroom you don't find a dirty spot. Every day the room is made and the bathroom is cleaned as the first day. Location is close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, California

Excellent Value in Essen

Posted Jul 27, 2016
_Conscientious staff. - Central location and very close to Zeche Zollverein transportation. - Comfortable lobby level bar with large outdoor terrace. - Quiet, clean room with large bed. - Breakfast too expensive to take advantage of but cafes near the Rathaus shopping center and pedestrian zone are within walking distance. - Room cleaned every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, England

It was a Welcome hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: It was friendly, welcoming and the staff were very helpful.
Cons: Put some spare pillows in the bedroom cupboards.
Location: We can recommend the restaurant they directed us to, but beware HUGE portions. If you want to finish your main course, do not have a starter.
It was a very welcoming hotel. We came with our dog and the facilities were excellent, including excellent parking . Two disappointments were the fact that the night were stayed there, the restaurant was closed for a business meeting (how nice if we had been informed when booking) and the fact that in the bedroom the beds had only one pillow. Had I remembered when I read he reviews I would have noted this as a complaint a couple of times and still nothing has been done about it. Pity. The reception staff were very helpful in finding us an alternative dog friendly restaurant only a short distance away, but as it was pouring with rain, we had to have a taxi there which added to the cost. Despite this I would go there again (with extra pillow in my luggage).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The hotel is quite new and close to downtown . It has also a very exquisite restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Good location city center and Colosseum Theater

Posted Nov 21, 2014
We just needed a hotel for one night, as we'd tickets for a performance at the Colosseum Theater and didn't want to drive back to The Netherlands late at night. The hotel is about an almost straight 20 min walk from the theater. As we considered the hotel's parking garage too expensive, we parked our car at the car park next to the theater. The hotel is located at the edge of the old city center, doesn't look too appealing from the outside, but is well done inside. L-shaped reception desk could be somewhat larger and huge pillar in front of it is blocking the sight (desk clerk can't see you and v.v.). Our spacious rooms were on the fifth floor. (bath)rooms were clean and looked brand new. There was a coffee maker (no tea?!). One of the rooms didn't have curtains, but folding curtains instead. This should be changed, as daylight can enter easily (in particular during summer time). Matrasses were a bit on the soft side to our taste: comfortable when laying still in bed, but annoying when my partner turned in his sleep and the matrass became 'like a wave'. We didn't use the breakfast at the hotel, as we considered it far too expensive (EUR 21.50 on Sundays). Overall, a convenient stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from London

Lovely hotel in maybe not the most lovely area.

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Staff (mainly), rooms and breakfast buffet.
Cons: Manners course for one bar staff member. Better pillows. :)
Location: Good transport links but the area isn't the most tourist friendly.
I used the Wecome Hotel as a base while visiting the Essen spiel (Board gaming trade fair) and although it was somewhat off the beaten trail, it suited my needs very well. The staff were almost all very helpful and friendly apart from one barman who displayed some of the worst customer service I have ever witnessed (ignoring customers to chat to a young lady, which would be annoying in a backstreet bar but was unacceptable in a 4 star hotel). My only slight quibble with the rooms was the one, extremely soft pillow that gave my head no support at all. Other than that, the rooms were very nice indeed. As I said, the area isn't the nicest part of Essen by a long stretch but the transport links were excellent with the Tram station just a few yards away. The food was excellent with the breakfast being particularly good. All in all, I'm very happy with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to amenities and town centre.

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Room had air conditioning.
Cons: Price of the meals were expensive.
All I was looking for was a nice place to sleep at a reasonable price. That's exactly what I got and more. Staff are welcoming and polite. The room is very clean and comfy with great aircon. I was a little disappointed that breakfast was extra at €17. Overall a nice stay at essen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by BizTravelGirl from Seattle

Centrally located business hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: Good location, consistent service.
Cons: No coffee or tea maker in the room.
Location: Easy 5-10 minute walk to the central shopping area
This is a basic business traveler hotel and is well situated in central Essen. Breakfast is expensive (as it is in most European hotels). The hotel is more geared to the male business traveler, than female business traveler. There is a grocery store about 2 blocks away and it is an easy 5-10 minute walk to the central shopping area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Go there to find good vine!

Posted Oct 13, 2012
Pros: The restaurant.
Cons: There was not any shoe polish set.
I visited two times in the restaurant where I found a high quality red vine from Freiburg.