Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but expensive for breakfast offering

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Staff were good
Cons: Quality and value of breakfast could be significantly improved
Stayed two nights while visiting relatives nearby. Reception and lounge bar staff were friendly, welcoming and professional on our arrival and our room was spacious and well provisioned so we looked forward to the remainder of our stay. We did note that there was a wedding taking place at the hotel so expected evening noise and a busy breakfast room on the Sunday morning. Our room (number 23) seemed to be over the lounge area where the noise from the evening disco was significant but also traffic noise was very noticeable on the following night which is something to be aware of if you need a very quiet space. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was buffet style serving and disappointing quality. Limited options/choice and not very hot. I'm not a big fan of making your own tea from a hot water dispenser or doing your own toast, but understand that this keeps staff numbers down when guest numbers are high. On the following morning hot food was made to order and a wider range was available so a better experience but still do it yourself for tea and toast. Felt that overall the hotel was a good quality but at the rates charged the breakfast offering was not a good standard and made the overall stay poor value for money.
5 out of 5
by jack g.

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on CheapTickets
Not your average best western lovely grounds to walk in liked the restaurant and bar my room was great will return !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset.

Great place to stay if your in the area.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Easy to find. Stayed 3 nights with business. Clean rooms. All facilities you'd expect. Really comfortable bed. Nice breakfast. All the staff i had contact with were polite and helpful. I only had 1 meal in the restaurant but it was excellent. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hants

Good for short stay

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: fresh food for breakfast
Cons: price is a bit high
Wanted somewhere for 1 night for Uni viewing. Was not disappointed. First time ever I think I've thought 'room smells nice' when I walked in. Lovely white crisp sheets, comfortable beds, good temp. Lovely breakfast with fresh (not tinned) fruit salad and good selection of breads and freshly cooked breakfast to follow. Only thing that let it down was that the bathroom was a little tired, though that was minimised by it being nice and clean. Good for a short stop; wouldn't choose for a holiday as usually go somewhere really rural and this was a little too close to main rd for this (though wasn't bad enough to affect this sort of trip)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the hotel.

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The location was good, near to A12 and M25.
Cons: Include breakfast in the price,be able to use the bar in the evening,10pm we had to sit in the reception area to have our drinks.Not very inviting.
Location: Close to family living in Writtle. Close to Chelmsford .
We arrived late from Derby to attend a funeral the next day, bit disappointed to find the £110 price did not include breakfast, had to pay an extra £10 each for this when we booked in. The staff were very friendly and the room was good, shower in the morning was troublesome, could only get cold or very hot, would have liked a nice warm shower, this was impossable.
5 out of 5
by Jim from Yorkshire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern rooms, quiet location

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Perfect for easy access to town and trunk roads, modern and clean rooms. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not my cup of tea.....

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: breakfast
Cons: no toilet brushes !
Location: a lot of road noise from the ajoining dual carriageway.
I've been asked to revise my review, so to keep it short and to the point. I would not recommend this hotel owing to the traffic noise and the extremely soft mattresses and the poor waiter service in the conservatory / bar. The roomsa re extremely stuffy and have poor ventilation, if that's your thing then you'll enjoy this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Carole from Bournemouth

Great hotel for anyone

Posted Apr 24, 2013
Pros: The helpful friendly staff
Cons: Don't have any
Location: Lovely and peaceful but easy to reach from M25
Staff incredibly helpful and the best hotel breakfast ever - cooked fresh and hot!!! Very pleased and will return.
4 out of 5
by John from Japan

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 14, 2012
Hotel was clean and efficiently run Staff were pleasant Room size good - shower and bathroom clean