Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
It was clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cippenham

Visit to Essex

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, facilities, location.
Cons: Hotel is having a refurb so think this will cover this
Location: Quiet location, pretty grounds. There is a Frankie & Bennies and a Chiquitto's 2 minutes down the road if you don't want to eat in the hotel.
Lovely location for this hotel. Ample free parking. Receptionist on arrival was a joy and couldn't do enough for us, apart from highlighting that the hotel is undergoing a refurb and there maybe some disruption, we didn't see the A4 sheets on the desk highlighting this so were a bit surprised when woken at 8am by men tearing down the wallpaper outside our bedroom door loudly. Apart from that the hotel is nice and will be even better when refurb is finished as is a little tired. Gym and pool are a nice addition. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. Bar is nice and plenty of seats, lady kindly turned the large screen tv over for us to watch what we wanted. Would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for your money

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, facilities and helpful staff
Very happy with our stay at this hotel easy to find good facilities and helpful staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an upgrade

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The staff were very pleasant in direct contrast to the state of the hotel
Cons: Overall condition of the hotel
The hotel is very tatty from carpets in the hall to condition of the bathroom. The heating in the room was stuck on high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

We stayed 1 night for a birthday party in the area

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and quiet.
Cons: The Maid entered our room while we were still asleep in bed, wanting to know if she could make our room up. Despite door tag in place Do Not Disturb!
Location: Only stayed one night, but location looks interesting with facilities for things to do.
Took a while to get too, once we got into Colchester, so there were time delays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Myself,partner,brother-in-law and sister-in-law stayed here for a night and it was a very comfy stay. Room was clean and staff where on hand 24.7 and very friendly. we will pick this hotel again if we are going to another event in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from swansea

Noisy

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Pillows. Better noise reduction on windows
Awful road traffic noise. Didn't get much sleep. Awful pillows
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Nice hotel close to Colchester, England

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Great facility with great amenities and fair rate per night. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Close to Marks Tey train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Good hotel for this level

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Was fine
Location: You can visit people you know.
Fine - had a bed, a shower and a toilet and was clean. I was here for convenience - what more do you want from a hotel room?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Hotel very old fashioned and dated. Breakfast was awful and condition of breakfast room was terrible.