Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Returning guest - some disappointments

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Restaurant, food good but limited to the bar area.
Cons: change the staff attitude
Location: Great for business in the town.
Stayed here several times before. No issues, liked car security and parking. this time my car had been tampered with. Rang the staff, who were initially disinterested in my findings and got very stroppy - telling me it was nothing they could be held responsible for! finally they acknowledged that me call was only to advise them they might have a problem and would consider the cctv.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review and I can only apologise about the car park situation and assure you this is a very rare occurrence, we have CCTV which covers the hotel entrance/exit and you can see a very small part of the car park. I hope to be able to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2016
Unfriendly and unprofessional staff. Terrible noises. No fridge. No air condition. Unnecessary charges such as "tray charge". ROOM DIDNT GET CLEANED ONCE IN 3 DAYS!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I can only apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do not offer air conditioning or fridges in any of our rooms, however every room does have a fan and the rooms are cleaned every day unless the "Do Not Disturb Sign" has been placed on the door. We have an excellent team here and I am sorry that you did not get the service expected. Maybe on a future visit you will experience the true Rose & Crown hospitality. Best Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lif

Great location and annexe rooms are excellent

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Stayed 1 night and everything was great. Thought £99 was a little pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed our executive block. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Business hotel, near town centre

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Location and car parking
Cons: Attention to basics
This is a substantial hotel, dating from the 1600s; there are numerous period features - oak beams, low ceilings and a slightly awkward layout - but there are also numerous pseudo features which are rather tacky. The staff are pleasant enough but, when we arrived, two were standing outside having a cigarette, and neither bothered to greet us or [we're in our late 70s] give us a hand with the bags. The room was a bit small [not a problem] and clean, but the furniture had seen better days; it had been redecorated recently, but the paint was already peeling; the hot water was hot, but the shower screen didn't fit and the bathroom floor near-flooded. Some of the stair carpet was threadbare, and oddments of furniture etc were stacked untidily in the passage. Evening meals were served in the bar. The menu and presentation tried [and failed] to be clever; and the food was pub-average. The breakfast was good average, but grossly over-priced. We would have another look at the alternatives before staying there again; it was 'OK', but we didn't think it was particularly good value
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review about your stay in Feb, we have just received a log on to respond. The week you stayed we were finishing our refurbishment and had all sorts of bit n bobs in the corridors. I would love to show you our refurbished rooms to show you the true hospitality of the Rose & Crown. Also note, staff are not allowed to smoke in sight of guests and are disciplined if this occurs. Hope to welcome you back soon. Best Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from folkestone

Was good, not disappointed

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Was a suprise birthday night away, gad a family room as our 9 year old was with us. Room was comfortable, good facilities, bathroom was good. Breakfast was very good, just make sure you get there 20 mins before the end, as they wouldn't make any more croissants. Staff very courteous.... Value for money
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review about your stay back in January (we have just received a log on to respond to reviews). I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy

Posted Dec 22, 2015
All u could hear was bass as there was a Christmas party , there was a leaflet in the room saying that it could be noisy due to Xmas parties ,could have been told before I booked the room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I thank you for your review and apologise for the delay In responding. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Staff

Posted Nov 12, 2015
I was in and out of the hotel at all different hours of the day and night for work and all the staff were always very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I thank you for your review and apologise for the delay In responding. Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
I arrive quite late, but the person in reception was very helpful. I like the building, have a character and is nice and clean the same in my room, no complaints. I haven't tried the food and I can't comment about that. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I thank you for your review and apologise for the delay In responding. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 横浜

コルチェスターの旧市街から少し離れたホテル

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: ベッドルームは明るい。
Cons: 水場が臭うのはなんとかして欲しい。デスクが暗すぎる。
イギリスのホテルは、他のホテルに比べると値段が高いとしみじみ思った。ロンドンほどではないが、エアコンなどがないし、シャワーだけなのに、約80ポンド(朝食抜き)は高すぎる。水場がやや臭った。デスクスタンドが欲しい。ネットもマックとは相性が悪いのか、なかなか接続できなかった。隣の部屋の音が筒抜けです。
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I thank you for your review and apologise for the delay In responding. Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Humpty Doo, Australia

Quirky hotel with character

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The attractive appearance & quirky features of the building. Secure parking was provided for guests. The meals served in the bar were excellent.
Cons: A suitable fan should be provided in every room. Also visitors should be warned about the number of stairs needed to climb to reach the guest rooms,
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of the shopping centre & the local castle, with a lovely park nearby.
I stayed at the Rose & Crown for 2 nights in a single room, which was quite small. The bed was comfortable & the bathroom facilities as expected. However the window could not be opened (a security issue as it faced directly onto the driveway at ground level) and there was no airconditioning. The tiny portable fan in my room did not work and the receptionist was unable to find a desk fan so I was given an industrial pedestal fan which took up most of the space in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I thank you for your review and apologise for the delay In responding. Best regards