Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great facilities, helpful staff.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: facilities like the pool, gym,golf, starbucks, helpful staff
Cons: check in times
Location: easy to find
I felt the check in time was far too late and the check out time was fine. There were lots of rooms taken by people we knew , we had booked through a special code, special price as guests at a wedding there. The wedding began at 11 and we couldn't get into rooms until 3 - we felt some people could have been allowed to take their rooms before that when they knew the reason for out stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
You have the wrong hotel, we do not have a gym, pool etc, and we always allow wedding guests priority check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The building was historical and well-maintained.
The staff were polite and the check-in process was fast. It was also handy to have a pub on-site for our meals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntingdon, cambs

Old hotel with character

Posted May 8, 2017
Nice hotel but rooms simplistic. Location is good -close to the town. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Lisa G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Comfortable, historic hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Historic
Location: Walkable to town. The walk along the river suggested by the staff was lovely. Not much to do around the hotel itself.
Rooms comfortable, bathroom updated, staff friendly. The pub is great! What a true British pub should be. Great space, friendly staff and good solid pub food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Lisa G, Hotel Management
Hi Heather, Thank you so much for your review. Toni our bar manager likes to keep the pub typically British as we are so historic. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay good breakfast offering, better than average comfort
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017
Thank you for your comments. A good breakfast sets you up for the day. best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Very nice Hotel Very Clean Nice Staff Good food but far too expensive Breakfast 1 x egg 2 sausages 1 bacon 1 x spoon full of beans 1x spoon full of mushrooms1 slice of Black Pudding 1 x Egg 1 tomatoe priced at over £11 - 00
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Lisa G, Hotel Management
Dear Phil, Thank you for posting a review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you felt the cost of our breakfast was high - you could also have any of the extensive range of items from the continental buffet and unlimited hot beverages and toast. I hope to see you again soon. Best regards
4 out of 5
by Maria Angela

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Thanks for posting your review. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards
5 out of 5
by Nigel

Great hotel with fantastic food

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel with fantastic food ****
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for posting your review, I am pleased you enjoyed our food. See you again soon. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely old inn but a littla noisy.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Great building and a lovely room. Situated on an A road so a littla noisy. Wedding reception and pub downstairs, conversations could be heard clearly in the room. I would still give it the thumbs up though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Lisa G, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Thermostat in the room seemed faulty, kept setting itself to 32 degrees C in auto. Had to put it in manual to keep the setting, and sleep with windows open to stop the room being an oven
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review and I will investigate why the heater was faulty in your room. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.