Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Birthday treat for my husband

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Bedroom and bathroom were lovely and very clean. Staff were very friendly
Cons: The breakfast, when paying £16.95 each you expect to be waited on and have your breakfast cooked to order. This was big disappointment for us.
Location: Location was very nice, in a quiet pretty part of the country.
Loved the hotel, room and bathroom. We had dinner in the restaurant as a treat for my husbands birthday, lovely food and service. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel and grounds are lovely we took a stroll around the grounds in the morning. Only disappointment was that the breakfast was a buffet, when you pay £16.95 each you expect to be waited on and have your food cooked to order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely country hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Our classic double room in the main house was lovely, clean and very nicely furnished. Great breakfast too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A relaxing night away

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Would definitely come back to this hotel again, really enjoyed my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful sight

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Everything was clean, spotless and the spa was amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great fancy hotel away from most things

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Serene environment. room was beautiful.
Cons: heating in the room for cold days and nights.
Location: villages are around, restaurants and shops within 5 minutes drive. its really great for a quiet getaway from the hustle
Overall, quick check in, not so difficult to find. but really out of the way. However some good restaurants in the villages around. Room was very well presented. However, could have been warmer for a very cold night. same with the bathroom. floor was very cold as was tiles, could have done with providing some slippers for this. Gym was ok for the hotel. enjoyed running on treadmill watching tv. wifi connection not very good here. Also in the hotel, mobile connection is dicy. Quick check out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Country hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Invited for a wedding .. Fantastic impressive building in beautiful grounds only thing that lets it down is no pool and spa has to be paid for. Lovely room, comfortable bed, wonderful breakfast great bar .. All the staff were polite and nothing seemed too much trouble
4 out of 5
by Shaun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Large country house hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Booked this to stay after a local wedding Big well equipped room Good breakfast An imposing building in spacious rooms grounds Friendly efficient staff
5 out of 5
by PHILIP

Classy and Courteous...

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Down Hall, you won't be disappointed. The buliding itself is steeped in history and is surrounded by beautiful gardens, walks and woodland. I stayed here over the festive period so even a stay during the winter months won't distratct from the romance and beauty of the place. The rooms are decorated and finished to a high standard, just what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. The staff and service received were classy and courteous from the moment you walk into the reception area.
4 out of 5
by Carole

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay, Down Hall is truly fabulous. My only criticism would be the bed we had, it was uncomfortable and not suitable for someone of 6'4".