Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel reception is in another building, so you have to lug your cases all the way to the hotel when you check at reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel, great facilities!

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
20 mins drive from where I have to occasionally work in Colchester but compared to the hotels there, it was worth it. Quiet surroundings, parking on site, coffee and tea making facilities, food reasonably priced and the leisure facilities are great. I will be staying here again rather than in town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great facilities

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Use for work, good price, Good gym, friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet place to relax

Posted Oct 12, 2016
A bit far out of town if you want restaurants and shopping. Obviously perfect for golfers. Comfortable but a bit "tired". No real complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
A pleasant stay in a reasonably comfortable room. Room is a little dated but ok, bathroom needed attention, floor tiles had gaps between them, clean enough though
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine if you need somewhere close to Marks Hall

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Attended a wedding at the nearby Marks Hall and stayed at the Essex Golf and Country hotel. I tend to judge my hotel experiences on whether I can bring myself to use the bathroom, in this case it was a struggle and not helped by the poor shower temperature and water pressure. Im pretty sure you're pay for the use of the pool, steam room, etc, rather than the room. Staff could have been friendlier to other guests but were fine with us. Appreciated the fast service to bring items to our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The pool really made this stay worthwhile

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
I would have given a higher overall rating, but had a very poor night's sleep as a large group of very loud drunk people stood in the car park immediately outside my (ground floor) bedroom window for about an hour well after midnight. I had asked for a quiet room but was located in the room closest to the entrance door to the bedroom block. I mentioned the incident to the receptionist in the morning, but have not been contacted by the hotel management. Just also to mention that my bathroom was designed for a wheelchair user, which meant that the washbasin was very low. I don't think the hotel was heavily booked that night, so I am sure that other rooms were available. I didn't mention this to the staff at the time, but it did niggle a bit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IE

Very rural setting with a golf course

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Quiet location, good facilities.
Cons: Internet. The WiFi access is extremely slow and makes it almost impossible to do any work requiring VPN connection or access to cloud based data.
Hotel is located in a rural area with a golf course a golf course and spa facilities. There are many other light industries around and you drive past a number of these as you approach the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woking

not bad.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Golf club based hotel. we payd £63 for twin room. ok value for money. not impressed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the Bad day

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
We went to the hotel and showed booking email. Reception girl informed me they don't have their system our booking. We have to wait reception nearly 15-20min.She checked her computer system and go to her manager come back. After temporally asked to go to bar and sit down. Later 5-8min she came and arrange room. We had a shower. We can't stop water from shower.Broken Shower. Maintainers called. Shower isolated. After few hours we have to go another Room. Noisy environment next to the room due to repair the hotel And Car park. filthy carpet inside the hotel. General manager is good & asked sorry for noise, Shower so on. Behind the hotel Golf ground with nice view.