Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast disappointing

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Buffet breakfast was a bit lacking to be honest at this price point. But the staff, especially on reception, were excellent!
3 out of 5
by Angela

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is really nice, we stayed 2 nights, the staff are really happy and helpful, and the general overview is it's a really nice pleasant place to stay we never had dinner here but the breakfast is fantastic, the only thing that let's it down is the dirty crockery, first day at breakfast which is self service I had to hand back 5 plates before I found a clean one, the coffee and tea cups were also dirty, yes it did put me off eating in there, the following day was a little better only 3 dirty plates before I found a clean one and the cups were cleaner, overall yes I would return but I think the dishwasher needs replacing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from wales.

Family visit

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: All the staff that we meet were really friendly and helpful. Facilities were very good.
Cons: Room was cold when we arrived but soon warmed up when heating was turned on.
Location: Colchester is an interesting town to visit and also has a zoo.
Stayed at this hotel on a family visit to Colchester visiting relatives. Booked last minute and secured bed and breakfast for £79 which represented excellent value for money over house rates. Conveniently situated off the motorway it was easy to find. The staff were pleasant, rooms were modern and large and there were facilities for swimming, gym and a restaurant to meet our needs. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for work

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Reception staff were excellent, corridors noisy, bathroom door swings back and hits the glass panel on shower can imagine the hotel will be replacing shower doors, felt as if the bedroom refurb had been done quickly as pencil markets on wall from fitting tool rail. Also if you run the shower and you aren't standing under it, it will flood bathroom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
We had 2 rooms. The room which had not been designed for wheelchair use had a better bathroom i.e. The bathroom for those with a mobility issue needed to be updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable two night stay.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Good service. Excellent breakfast and evening menu.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel.Good staff perfect for what I needed And the breakfast was well worth having
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Our first time at a holiday inn and what a pleasant surprise it was. Friendly staff,well appointed and clean rooms,comfortable beds,excellent food. We will be using holiday inn again without any doubt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels