Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
We had 2 rooms. The room which had not been designed for wheelchair use had a better bathroom i.e. The bathroom for those with a mobility issue needed to be updated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erith. Kent

Thank you for an excellent stay

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We used the facilities and found everything to a high standard. My granddaughter joined me on this trip as we visited family, and saw local friends. Access to the hotel from the A12 is amazing and it was very easy to find. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we were privileged to see to wedding party is enjoying the hotel and all the facilities available I would happily recommend this hotel to anybody. Thank you for an enjoyable trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire

great hotel close to Colchester

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Very clean,modern and family friendly place to stay, room/en suite was large and very clean, staff were extremely polite and helpful and all very smart. Great food and pool/ gym facilities. Plenty of parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Is Holiday Inn business friendly?

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Country atmosphere, great breakfast, friendly staff, clean
Cons: Let's get this internet thing right, business needs speed without a premium. No speed is like a room with no bed
Friendly atmosphere, the internet is not very fast, cuts out etc . Spend the money and get it right. Also, I have a bad hip. Getting in and out of the shower - please install a handle bar. The staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Yorks

Good hotel and well located

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Quiet and clean.
Location: We used it as a base for the Beth Chatto gardens and RHS Hyde Hall both of which are reasonably close.
Hotel has been refurbished and was very well presented. All the staff were very helpful and answered all our queries speedily and accurately.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

poor house keeping

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Poor house keeping of the corridors Empty glasses and crockery left outside room doors not collected while I stayed,my own food tray was outside from 17:45 and was still there at 8:00 next morning. Due to refurb a very strong smell of paint in corridors rooms then having to leave window open to try and clear smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Comfortable and modern

Posted May 31, 2016
Clean, comfortable and modern hotel benefiting from recent refurb. Staff friendly, breakfast just OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel. Very kind and welcoming staff.

Posted Mar 13, 2016
I am heavily pregnant and the staff were wonderful, caring and helpful. I felt looked after. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Very bad sleep

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Hi, we've stayed at holiday Inn Colchester last night and had a horrible sleep. mattress was very had,the room we've stayed in didn't had double glazing,r 228 and we could clearly hear the train which was very disturbing duting thr night and was also very cold.the duvet was very thin and there was no extra blanket available. Our back hurts very bad today, what we've expected to be a nice relaxing break away turned in to a horrible experience with backaches.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to get to.

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet.
Cons: Check out staff were not really interested. Room service food was awful
Room was clean, quiet and well appointed. There was an plug in the room that did not work. It was next to the hairdryer and so I had to drag the desk over to a working socket to dry my hair.