Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple room, nice people and good breakfasts...

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Simple and clean room with en-suite. Good breakfasts.
Cons: Within the constraints of building structure and location - there's not much that could be changed. Add WiFi? Discourage parking outside rooms?
Location: Converted farm buildings away from village / town facilities. However, the road connections are good....
Small single room with en-suite, TV, kettle. Rooms are on ground floor in separate building. Good breakfasts, friendly management. Location is remote from towns - but road links are good. Some residents park their cars outside the rooms - so the noise can disturb you. Overall, I would have no problem to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly farm stay

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Neil & his wife are lovely people. Complete with friendly dogs too. Very friendly & accommodating. The accommodation was very cute with everything we needed. Location good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice quiet hotel, non generic!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
quiet place, pubs and generic pubs within driving distance, great staff and an excellent full English breakfast and cereals available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, secluded, quiet but close to pubs

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Easy check in and check out, clean, within easy driving distance to various pubs, great hosts and an excellent breakfast, would I stay again? - yes! Also check out my website www.PoseAndClickPhotobooth.co.uk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Run by a lovely couple, great breakfast and in a wonderful countryside location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Exactly what I wanted / expected

Posted Apr 7, 2016
If you want the classic UK B&B experience this place absolutely has you covered. Worth the drive to get just a little out of town. Great folks and the breakfast is Amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cambs

Handy for Great Dunmow

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet, yet not far from the main road. Comfortable, unpretentious. Friendly family-run character.
Cons: Spacious en-suite bathroom was well equipped, shower-over-bath with mixer tap worked well, good water flow. Not crazy about shower curtains.
Location: Close to Dunmow, convenient for Stansted I imagine.
One night stopover to be close to Dunmow for an early appointment. The hotel is just three minutes up the road, very convenient, on a working farm. Our room was in a converted outbuilding, very warm despite cold weather. We had one (king size) double and a large single bed, plenty of space. Very clean and cosy. Breakfast had everything one could need, nicely presented in a converted barn. Very good poached eggs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stafford, Virginia

Convenient to Stansted Airport if You Have a Car

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Historic farm buildings converted into a bed and breakfast less than 10 miles from Stansted Airport. Had to fly out early in the morning, so didn't get a chance to try the breakfast. Staff was extremely helpful. Booked reservations for us at a local restaurant for dinner, and even helped me carry our bags to our room. Great if you have your own transportation. Plenty of parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Mini Break

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Friendliness & Comfortable Room.
Cons: Bathroom probably needs a little refurbishment
Location: Close to lots of little villages, walks, restaurants and pubs.
Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bed, very clean, nice toiletries and very soft white towels. Farmland surroundings, lovely and quiet and not far from the local town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Market Harborough

A delightful B & B

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Standard of accommodation and a B & B with a bar is a bonus.
Cons: Maybe the pot plants could do with a little more water!
Location: My purpose was a Stansted pre-stay - it is just 15 minutes to the airport but, despite this, there is no overhead sound of arrivals/departures
As a single female traveller I felt 100% safe. The owners/staff were delightful.