Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, friendly hotel in picturesque setting

Posted Feb 13, 2014
I was looking for a "cost-effective" place to stay to get me nearer to London/Gatwick airport after a friend I was meant to stay with was taken ill last minute. Knowing that I would be taking Darftord crossing, I was looking at Harlow/Bishop's Stortford area, and this was one of the first hotels that caught my eye on the 'net. After a bit of research I decided to go for Little Hallingbury Mill based on it's quaint description (and exceptionally reasonable price), and was not dissappointed. A little difficult to find in the dark/wet weather (they plan to put up a clearer signage on the junction), I was pleased to see an old C19th Mill, annex and Millhouse converted to rooms, snug bar and dining area. Exceptionally friendly staff/owners made me feel very welcome, discussing the geography and history of the Mill/functioning waterwheel/gearset that is a feature of the bar over a nice cold pint of Stella (Ale and other lagers available). I turned up too late for dinner (I didn't get there til ~10pm), but was offered sandwiches if required. A traditional full English (cereals etc also available) set me up in the morning for my continued drive. All in all, excellent value for money. Would recommend to friends/family.
5 out of 5
by barry from motherwell

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel, good large portions of food and reasonable priced. Well worth the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice surroundings, hotel not as expected

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
First of all, you don't stay at the Mill, you stay at a large house next door. I booked a single room, and it was very small. The room seemed very dated and basic. If it was going for rustic, it failed. The bed squeaked on every movement and there was no headboard, only a picture screwed to the wall. The cupboard in the room fell like it was going to fall apart when I put my clothes in it. Admittedly I slept very well over two nights (apart from someone stomping around upstairs), but that was the best part of it. The bathroom and facilities were very basic. Whatever you flushed down the sink came up the toilet (first experienced when emptying a cup of coffee down the sink...). Choice of breakfast was either full English (£6.50) or continental (£4.50). Continental consisted of toast and/or cereal. Hardly continental! Second day of my stay I ended up going to a local sandwich shop for a bacon butty. I didn't dine at night in the restaurant so can't comment on it. Loungebar was decorated nicely, and still preserves the mills mechanisms, which is a nice touch. Overall, I may have just had the runt of the litter when it came to rooms, but I would not stay again because of my experience
2 out of 5
by Philipp from Karlsruhe

Kleinstes Bad

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels
Nachdem man das Hotel im dunkeln erst sehr mühsam suchen muss (ein paar Schilder würden sicher helfen) kommt man in eine sehr nette Kneipe (Pub). Die Zimmer sind allerdings winzig klein mit einem noch viel kleineren Badezimmer. Es gab noch nicht mal einen Stuhl, um seine Sachen abzulegen. Nicht noch einmal.
4 out of 5
by White from Guernsey

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely a very comfortable stay
5 out of 5
by Anna from Derbyshire

Great place

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Lovely place nice setting friendly staff would definitely recommend and return definitely need a sat nav to find the place d
5 out of 5
by Mike from North Wales

Lovely setting

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Only the driveway
Location: We weere there for our Grand daughters graduation ceremony in Chelmsford having justreturned form a trip to Tuscany
We were really pleased with this place after a disappointing stay at the Stanstead Hilton . A beauytifuil location once we found it, Nice little pubby type bar and excellent restaurant, Had a great nights sleep in the very nice room, % stars for me!
5 out of 5
by Rogers1961 from Derby

Quaint Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels
For somewhere so close to London the hotel has a feel of being miles away from anywhere in an idyllic rural location next to a canal. In reality it is not far from the M11 and within easy reach of the capital. I will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean comfortable stay

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels
food very good, good value for money very helpful staff, we would recommend this hotel