Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal place for overnight stay for friends meet up

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location
Cons: No afternoon cake available with a cup of tea unless you pre ordered in advance as part of a package. A shame that the pool was out of use!
Location: Only there overnight to meet up and visit the Chequers for a caberet night. That was a 20 minute taxi ride.
Pleasent. Ideal for our overnight stay. Not there long enough to comment further
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ramsgate

Beautiful surroundings

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Beautiful surroundings and breakfast. Close enough to London and Stanstead airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

Last Minute..

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: As above
Location: Stayed locally to collect my daughter from her school Prom. Live in France.
Very friendly welcome from reception staff. However downstairs room very noisy all night. Fire door constantly banging. People talking loudly in courtyard. Plus the outside courtyard light remains lit all night. Ate at local restaurant as no free tables. Very helpful female reception staff. Sorry I didn't take your name.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshunt

Pictures look better than the reality!

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Please see review
Tired and dated. Was informed on booking in that we would be charged for room service....? How does that make sense! Decor could be with massive updating. Also the music from the leisure centre could be heard in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good with lovely pool

Posted Mar 25, 2012
Pros: pool
Location: Lovely grounds
There for a wedding. Room perfect, though not in it much! Pool & gym fantastic - a definate plus point.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spain

Held to ransom

Posted Nov 26, 2008
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in total to attend my best friends wedding. The hotel and grounds are a beautiful setting for a wedding but the hotel is extremely overpriced,and I feel you are very much held to ransom to stay there when attending a wedding. The check-in staff were very helpful, but the waiter at breakfast shouldnt get a job at McDonalds let alone a hotel. The quality of the luke warm food was like eating rubber. In short I have stayed in hotels at less than half the price with better services and quality of food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harlow

Incompetent staff at reception

Posted Dec 20, 2007
The hotel is great and the golf course attached to it also good. But everything is ruined by the incompetent staff at reception - 3 times in this hotel and 3 times they tried to double charge me. End this time she even insisted before apologizing for the mistake.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Dec 20, 2007
Hotel ok, but could be cleaner. Room service breakfast was awful!