Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Martin

Never, ever again.

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Awful. The Den is a glorified dolls house in the car park with cheap, worn out furniture and a ridiculously small bathroom. I was asked if wanted tea or coffee at breakfast but none came during the time it took to eat a bowl of cereal and a danish pastry. Nobody came to take my cooked breakfast order either so I gave up waiting. The check out was no better. After querying the credit card charge that wasn't mentioned when they took a pre-authorisation swipe at check in, a sign pointing out the charge was turned to face me, accompanied by a 'can't you read?' look from the member of staff. Wouldn't recommend at all on the basis of bad hotel, bad attitude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - all feedback is very important to us whether it is good or bad. Your comments have been referred to our General Manager who will look into them. Kind regards Andrea Ince Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
by Gary R

Upmarket friendly horel

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
2 night stay in this hotel for business while working in Thurrock, nicely refurbished hotel with a comfortable room and nice little friendly bar within the grounds. Recommend the bar meals from there
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gary Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay - our Cafe Sartoria Lounge and Bar are very popular with guests. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes Andrea Ince Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Andrea Ince Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review - I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Andrea Ince Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

2 nights stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Excellent room , friendly staff , amazingly clean , overall a very nice place to stay. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by AInce, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you for the review and kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and we hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes Andrea Ince Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
by Darren

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to leaving a rating. I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Andrea Ince Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely overnight stay

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Orsett hall is in a lovely setting with beautiful grounds, our room was a little tired in places - carpets/curtains - but we had a lovely quiet room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - I will refer your comments to our General Manager. I hope that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Kind regards Andrea Ince Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth the pennies!

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Visited for a wedding we were attended. Check in/out process was smooth and quick. The room was well presented, spacious and lovely. The shower was a dream!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you come back and see us again soon. Best wishes Andrea Ince Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
I was charge extra for using cridit card. this was disapointing
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We do charge for payment using Credit Card as lots of other Hotels and businesses do as we are charged by the credit card Companies themselves. Notice of this would have been in your booking confirmatiion. I am sorry that you were disappointed abut this but hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Andrea Ince, Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dumfries, Scotland

Quiet well located hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Comfort and quality
Cons: Ensuite shower room and a better maintenance call out for spa
Location: Location is great for peace and quiet but only ten miunutes in car if you were going to Tilbury Port for a cruise and needed a stop over.
First time I've used Orsett Hall and have to say it is a very nice hotel with good quality pleasant professional staff. Everything is to a fairly high standard including the beautiful spa area. The Garden restaurant offers good quality food and priced well to compete with most other hotels. My room was very large and very comfortable and had a wet room for the shower room. Two bad points about shower room is that it is designed for a wheelchair user so the sink is a tiny cloakroom type sink low down with no waste plug facilty. It makes it very difficult for a tall person like me to shave. The other draw back is the wet room makes the floor completely flooded so you cannot walk back in and out of the bathroom without getting your feet wet over and over again. I was extremely unlucky as when I went to use the spa which I was looking forward to after a hard working day the pool lights had gone out and the hot tub had emptied itself. I used the other facilities for over an hour but no one who knew how to fix the problem turned up
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Andrea Ince, Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. I have also noted your comments about the accessible room and Spa. We have reviewed the call out proceedure for the Spa to ensure the relevant staff can rectify any issues quickly and efficiantly. Please come back and see us again soon. Kind regards Andrea Ince, Marketing Manager