Ratings based on 629 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North West

Handy for visiting family

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: See above however, we had same problems previously
Bedroom not properly cleaned (main room and bathroom), breakfast dining was a shambles but did get upgraded to sea view on arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, Thank you for your review. Im sorry to hear that you encountered the issues stated above during your stay. These are not the usual high standards we stand in the local market for and there is no excuse why it happened. Let me assure you that the feedback has been passed on to the senior management in housekeeping and F&D to take corrective actions. We hope to receive you again soon. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harlow

anniversary.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: location perfect
Cons: standard of housekeeping. rooms need to be deep cleaned, stains removed from furniture and carpets also remove mold and mildew from the shower cubicle
Location: right opposite the amusement park and pier. walking distance to shopping centre and very busy high street for shops and bars restaurants.
We booked two nights for an anniversary treat. The hotel location is brilliant in the midst of everything shops and bars restaurants and amusements. The hotel needs a bit of TLC. We got a room with balcony, but no furniture to sit on. our room was a bit shabby with stains on the bedroom carpet and mold and mildew on the shower tiles. The public areas also needed to be kept cleaner. The resataurant was excellent for evening meals, but rather cramped for breakfast and a bit disorganised. I would stay again for the location but would ask for the tiles to be cleaned and stains removed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear chrissie, Thank you for your review. Im sorry to hear that you encountered the issues stated above during your stay. These are not the usual high standards we stand in the local market for and there is no excuse why it happened. Let me assure you that the feedback has been passed on to the senior management in housekeeping and F&D to take corrective actions. We hope to receive you again soon. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the pier

Posted May 30, 2017
The hotel was very nice, clean and staff where friendly. Despite having no car park of its own if you park in the shopping centre you can get a concessionary rate. Overall nice place to stay and good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear B, thank you for your review. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Clean the carpets!
Location: Close to seafront, shops and restaurants.
This hotel is conveniently located in Southend with easy access to the shops and seafront. The hotel is very old and has a musty smell when you walk into the check-in area (characteristic of older buildings!). The staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. It does have an on-site restaurant but I would have liked to have seen a coffee shop onsite. I had a large room facing the seafront which included a small balcony. All in all, other than the carpets being a little dingy, I liked the hotel and would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Tack kära gäst för din underbara feedback. Hoppas att vi ses snart igen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best position for everything

Posted May 6, 2017
Ask for high floor as our balcony on 2 nd floor was locked
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, The balcony are locked for health and safety issues. Due to previous issues with guests misuse of it we have got restrictors on them. Sorry for the inconvienience this has caused. Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

perfect location

Posted May 6, 2017
We stay here when we go to Southend due to the location. This hotel overlooks the sea and very central to the town. The staff are very friendly and go above and beyond to ensure you have a lovely stay. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. Breakfast has lots of choices ( they make fried eggs to order ) can't wait to return
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Ash, Thank you for your fantastic review. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by Christopher

CF

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent check-in/out. Helpful staff. Fantastic location with great sea views.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017
Dear Christopher, Thank you for your fantastic review. Kind regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

A chilly Easter in Southend

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Have window latches that work
Location: It's in teh centre of Southend so lots to do
Unfortunately we were put in a room that every time the wind blew the window opened as it had a dodgy catch. We didn't realise until the morning having thought the window was shut and having had an uncomfortable night. It was also very noisy as the w[ndow didn't shut. We mentioned it to the hotel staff who said we needed to speak to Expedia - so not a great experience for us or from Expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to reach out and write your review for us. We are delighted our location was suitable for your needs and made it easy to access the surrounding attractions. It is disappointing that an issue with your guest room has left a negative impression and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future if you are in the area again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Check in wasn't til 3pm ..our iterninary said 2pm...we got a carpal view which was disappointing..room was a bit small for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Park Inn By Radisson Palace, Southend-on-Sea. We are terribly sorry you could not check in at 2pm and that your room did not meet your expectations. We hope you will consider us in the future if you are in the area again.
4 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017
Dear Steven, Thank you for your great review. Regards