Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Posted Oct 16, 2016
It was a great place to stay. I had no issues. The staff was great and nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Worse than independent cheap hotels

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Most of the things
Location: Average
Dust on the tv console, half open window, gave shower curtain to cover window, trying to present full size bed as queen size, greasy and slippery bath tubs. The only good thing was the lady at the front desk at the time of check in
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Super 8 in Essex

Posted Oct 4, 2016
The front desk staff were excellent. But the housekeeper was terrible. She would take away all towels( even the ones returned to the rack ), and leave nothing. The housekeeper never made up the bed, and would not replace the coffee packs. If it wasn't for the housekeeper, I would've given the hotel staff five stars. The neighborhood is a little shady. But for the price it's OK. Just lock your car, and don't leave valuables in view. I have to mention that the room was very nice. Not sure if booking through Expedia, caused me to have a great looking room. Or maybe all the rooms were nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Comfortable but was not there long enough to really give my opinion
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The elevator has an odor I still haven't defined. Though I got a smoking room, I've never had 1 that smells like someone smoked a carton of cigarettes right before I entered. 2 of the lights didn't work. The beds "dipped" in the middle. The shower curtain had hair all over it. The washer didn't work. I guess the fact that they did have beds was the highlight.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ideal location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: housekeeping, better sheets and comforters, also pillows.
Location: It was a great location, it was close to grocery stores, eateries and other nearby stores.
Experience was good, the room was clean and the air quality was good. The sheets look as if they were not change they had cigarette burns on them, the comforter and a green stain on it. The bathroom sink the water did not drain properly and for the nights and days we were there no house keeping came to change the garbage, clean the room or replenish supplies.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore, md

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Horrible smell outside, stayed in room 214 and shower did not work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Orbitz
I would recommend noone to this hotel. Employee tried to enter room twice in the middle of the night. There was also a fight happening at the hotel. Bed was fine, but place was not very clean. Was not a pleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by Vicente

Not good at all!!

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
The fire detector battery needed replacing and it started beeping waking me up at 7:15 in the morning. The room smelled like mildew and was stuffy when initially going in, hot! There was an opened bar of soap in the bathtub and some florring was coming off in the main room. Even though it stated they had free breakfast there was none at all!! The hotel is next to a fish market and the parking lot constantly smells like dead fish. I will never stay at this hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fontana, CA

We checked out within 15 minutes.

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: The price, but other than that, nothing really.
Cons: Cleanliness
I don't like writing bad reviews, but from my husband's experience staying at a Super 8 in Barstow, CA, we we're expecting the same good quality for this Super 8, but we booked because the rate was very affordable, and close to where we needed to be the following morning, even though we had seen the 2 star review. This hotel is located in a very unattractive area of Baltimore and there were homeless people sleeping in the parking lot. The gal in the front desk was nice, she did her job just processing our check in. After walking into our room, it smelled terrible, there was white powder on a sitting chair, and the beds looked so uncomfortable, we ended up check-in out within the first 15 minutes after getting there. The room just looked and smelled dirty. The gal at the front desk did offer another room, but the vibe at this Super 8 just didn't feel right. We didn't feel safe because of the area it is located either. Anyhow, we ended up booking the only other room available in the area at Quality Inn and Suites (which is also rated at 2 stars), but it was way cleaner, nicer and the beds were so much comfortable.