Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2016
Nice hotel, a bit retro looking furniture, but generaly good value for money.
5 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michelle from Colchester

Enjoyable stay

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for one night to relax and sample the town. Very relaxed and friendly nights stay. We will be back.
4 out of 5
by anthony from Gloucester

Overnight stay

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Good quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Staff very helpful and friendly, would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Steven from Cheshire

Nice hotel, but could do with refresh

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms were lovely, breakfast was brilliant. You could tell it's an old hotel and that they've done some work to modernise it, and it's all very nice. But there are still elements of the place that are a bit dated.
4 out of 5
by John from Chelmsford

Walking distance to the town centre

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and ideal location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel - needs improved soundproofing

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: Good location for city centre, bus and train stations; good breakfast; good size, clean, well-serviced room and bed.Well maintained hotel. Cons: Main disadvantage is the paper-thin walls - every noise can be heard from neighbouring rooms and corridors. Poor quality of soundproofing needs addressing as it would make a huge difference to the visitor experience. We had to ask a neighbour to turn down a tv after midnight, as it could be clearly heard even though it was in a room across the corridor.Also the shower is excessively powerful - a waste of water.
4 out of 5
by Joe from Northampton

Nice hotel, disappointing service.

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
A nice hotel, reasonably well located within Chelmsford. Beware, the hotel will book you a taxi if needed, but the company automatically adds a surcharge. Also, the hotel was only able to print off an invoice for me to the value that was paid by hotels.co.uk (nearly £20 less than I actually paid on the website).
4 out of 5
by Erik B.

Visit to Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Chelmsford is a pleasant town with a fairly big shopping area/walking street and some interesting tourist sights. Chelmsford is serviced by train, by the Abellio Greater Anglia train Company, from Liverpool Street Station, journey takes about 30 min. and very frequently. Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the stay and walk around the town. The County Hotel is a nice old building, very helpful and pleasant staff, it is a comfortable hotel, with good service , the shower in the bath is a bit clumsy, but it does work fine, the food service and bar is very good.
4 out of 5
by Dorothy from Benfleet

Got in eventually

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
I was there for the Poetry Festival in local theatre, my husband went shopping and ate lunch. We both ate in the bar during afternoon break, food was good. I went back to Festival, husband went back into town. Next day, after a good (self-service) breakfast we both did a bit of shopping before going home. Main problem with room was key didn't work, was re-encrypted but still didn't work. Third time it worked if you knew the trick of it. Signage to room was poor, sending us round corridors and up and down stairs (this was the first floor) when there was a simpler alternative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by GrahamMcG, Hotel Management
Dear Dorothy Many thanks for your feedback it is appreciated. It was earlier this year when we had all the room direction signs redone to bring us inline with new fire regulations. The problem with us is that there have many a number of "add ons" over the years so there are quite a few corridors but we have tried to simplify things as much as we can. Kind Regards