Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
First impressions weren't great but after looking at the room we decided it was OK and in character of the hotel. The bed was comfy and the room was a little too warm but better than cold! Also a fan was provided in the room as well as a portable heater. The bathroom was lovely and the shower was powerful and hot and easily adjustable. Toiletries were provided too. The room appeared to be clean but the decor was tired and to be honest the whole hotel could do with a sympathetic makeover! The TV could be a bit bigger and a bit more up to date but still viewable. Breakfast was good with ample choice of cereals and fruit. A choice of tea or coffee and fruit juice also a toaster with a choice of bread type. Several choices of cooked breakfast I would recommend the full English, the bacon and sausage were lovely although the fried eggs could have done with another minute in the pan. I have found that many of the breakfast cooks in hotels are foreign and do not know the subtleties of a good fried egg! On the whole an OK place to stay as long as your prepared to accept quaint!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location, reasonable price.
Cons: Toilet was very odd, with a boxed in area that meant the toilet seat would fall down the instant you opened it. Bathroom floor very uneven.
Location: Handy for central Colchester but some people might find the noise from outside offputting if they were staying at the front of the hotel.
Reasonably priced and good location. Planned refurb is much needed in the rooms, although communal areas are better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

character driven hotel in need of refurbishment

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: food good ,nice character hotel potenally brilliant
Cons: its in a state of flux
Location: great for all of colchesters amenities
disappointed you have to pay a £10.00 car park charge which is hidden in the small print
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Homely hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, homely feeling
Cons: The heating in the single rooms could have been better
Location: It's in the centre of town. Definitely 10/10 for location
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. the single room I stayed in wasn't very warm and was quite chilly because the radiator was not working properly. I will be speaking to the staff about this in my next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riga, Latvia

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Super breakfast, good location. Friendly staff. Parking facility.
Cons: Old room, need repair. Old hotel, need restauration.
Location: Excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding in the area- 1 night stay

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Great location in the centre of Colchester. Friendly staff and good sized room. Breakfast was ample and very tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Character Hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Had a lovely weekend in this full of character hotel. If you like modern, minimal spaces this is not for you. Want a place with history, Happy staff and a freshly cooked full English. The George hits the spot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Comfort and good service.

Posted May 3, 2016
A hotel full of olde worlde charm. The one thing that struck us during our stay (apart from the low beams!) was the friendliness and helpfulness of every member of staff. They all went out of their way to make us feel at home. We've stayed here about four times now and we'll certainly be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

visiting family

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Dining room
Location: Great
A listed. Building and it shows the staff in general were polite and helpful with whatever your needs and a big bonus it is situated in the centre of town with plenty of parking for guests. The breakfast was fantastic but the dining room looked more like a transport cafe rather than a hotel restaurant all the trimmings were missing. The bar closed at 2200 hrs that was rather disappointing so we had to go to another pub where we could continue entertaining
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very close to castle

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Needs some décor update - big time.
Location: 2 minutes walk from the castle and bang smack in the middle of town so an excellent location
We booked this hotel purely based on its proximity to the castle and so in that sense it fitted the bill perfectly. It's a quirky kind of place, an old coaching house, but it's in dire need of some TLC. The room décor is dull and shabby and ours was definitely on the small side, although adequate for one night. We never got any hot water - only ever lukewarm - not great on a cold night in January. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we felt sorry for them having to work in such a drab place. The full English breakfast was wonderful!