Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, Friendly and very convenient

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a single room for a one night stay in Colchester. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and facilities were very clean and comfortable and just what I expected. The free parking was very handy in this busy town. Breakfast was available but I didn't have one, although from what I saw it would have been very good value
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Globe

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
I don't think they do much about upkeep. The carpet in my room looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in a couple months.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Colchester Stopover

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Newly refurbished with an economical price.
Cons: Nothing the refurbished romm was great
Location: Colchester Castle is worth a visit - a few interactive displays of the history from Roman times onwards.
Refurbished hotel close to centre of old town, close to a nember of restaurants and for the energetic to the castle. Hotel restaurant serves a great breakfast but for dinner unless you like Indian food head up the road to Bar and Bistro Down Under for a fantastic time a la carte meal with efficient and friendly service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
It's the worst ever! Poor service and lack of manners from the manager. He tried to give me a twin room when I'd booked a double. The room was uninviting, linen was grey (once white), noisey location and above an Indian restaurant so the whole hotel smells. The breakfast is also in the Indian restaurant and the furniture is poor quality. Stay away from this. There are lots of good quality hotels in Colchester and this isn't one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town with parking

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Close to town and short walk yo station has car park
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lindsey from Gloucester

Would definitely stay again

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
The first thing that struck me was the fact that a lot of money and effort was being put into the hotel. This was heartening, as many hotels seem to have the attitude that the fact that you've booked is enough and they don't really need to bother after that. The room was adequate, although the bathroom was very small. At said, it's comparable to the bathrooms on cruise ships. Bed was comfy and everything was very clean. Locations is handy for town and the parking plentiful. My only niggle is that, as I was there on business, I wanted to check out at 8 and the reception was locked, with no-one about. There was no phone in e public area, so in the end I had to go into the kitchen and find the chef, who seemed to be the only member of staff on the premises. Luckily I had prepaid so didn't have a bill to settle, but had to go back to the kitchen a second time to get the chef to open the car park.
2 out of 5
by Jamal from Manchester

You get what you pay for

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
Water pressure was very weak
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not awful, not extraordinary either

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
I was a bit apprehensive before I checked in at the hotel, having read some other reviews. However, I found my stay was ok. It was nothing special, but it wasn't awful either. For the price paid, the experience was probably in line with my expectations. I thought the room was clean enough, the hotel was centrally located, the staff were helpful. The one problem I had was with the shower, which wasn't very powerful at all. It would be nice to be able to check in a bit earlier, but not a disaster.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Poor facilities & something dodgy about it.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Stayed here for New Years Eve with my girlfriend and 6 others, all in separate rooms. Despite paying in full online for my room they were insistent on taking my card number and security code in case they needed to charge me for any extras... After reading other reviews where people had been charged for things they had not bought and even in some cases charged again for the room, I assured I would definitely NOT be paying for any extras and refused to give her my card details. In total we had four rooms and we were split up between 2 buildings and 2 floors which was irritating. No food was allowed in the rooms and they had a long list of billable offences that were ridiculously overpriced... For example, we were provided with one room key for the two of us and a replacement key, if this was lost or stolen, would have cost us £15! Are you serious? 15!? Really?? The room and bed were nice, comfy and well decorated with the exception of the bathroom which was, in my kindest words, a wet room in a wardrobe. Felt like a portaloo at a festival. Very plasticy and the room just had a drain in the middle for when the shower inevitably flooded the whole thing; water pressure was fine by the way. In all we had a good night sleep after a good night out in Colchester, but you get the impression that the owners are after your money in anyway they can, sometimes by outright stealing it. I would NOT recommend staying here and I would suggest you check your bank statements when home.