Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

Great outside, not so great inside

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The location, the garden, the building.
Cons: Staff could have been more efficient and friendly.
Location: Rural location, but close to M11 and Stansted Airport. Also Bishops Stortford very close by
First room we had we didn't like. Only a rooflight window and no furniture to put anything down on apart from the bed. All our belongings were laying along the floor. We felt more as though we were camping. Just a rail with 2 hangers for our clothes. No hook anywhere to hang up a wet towel, so they were draped over the bathroom door! Did not feel comfortable at all. We eventually were moved for subsequent nights. Much better room fortunately. Although you are under the flight path of Stansted, you actually get used to the sound of the planes. Didn't stop us sleeping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverool

Perfect for flying out of Stanstead

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Used this hotel a few times now, the grounds are very pleasant and green, it has a very relaxed atmosphere, even though it is right by Stanstead airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable hotel to crash before a flight.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Very close to the airport. Very nice room. Double bed in a single room
Cons: Can't check out the night before. Would be nice if there were some food options at the hotel that you could take to the room.
Location: The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but who cares.
Was only looking for a place to crash before my early flight. This hotel supplied that and more. The hotel is in a couple of very nice historic buildings. The single room I had was modern, comfortable with nice minimalist décor. Periodically you get noise from the airport until the airport closes for the night. This is quite loud though infrequent but was to be expected and didn't bother me too much. Other than that the place is very quiet. Judging by the car park the hotel was full but I didn't notice any other guests. If I want to nitpick the TV is quite small and the controls are slow to respond. The TV has a blue light that you can't turn off so you have a blue glow in the room all night (I put a towel over the TV). It's 5 mins from the airport so perfect for an early flight. I was told that I couldn't check out the night before. The whole point of this hotel is to be near the airport so the last thing you want is to have to check out at 4:30am. Luckily I had prepaid so I didn't need to bother all the same I think they should sort this out. I would definitely book again if I had an early flight (in fact I may do so today for my next flight). However due to the airport noise I would not stay here otherwise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed over night after flying back from holiday

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Comfort and clean
Location: It was just a stop over did not want to do anything but sleep, then get on our way home. It had plenty of places to visit
Everything you needed for an overnight stay was provided.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scunthorpe

Noisy hotel under flight path

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Food
Cons: Staff training.
Very noisy location due to flight path. Inexperienced staff. However, food was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon tyne

Excellent airport hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Stayed as a one night pre airport hotel. Everything about the place was excellent, the hospitality and the scenery in particular were great. Would definitely recommend a drink in the Lakeside garden bar. Truly stunning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
noisy slamming doors. noisy slamming doors. noisy slamming doors. noisy slamming doors.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Cons: noisy slamming doors
Slamming doors good room. Slamming doors good room. Slamming doors good room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qatar

my stay

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff and very friendly.
Location: The hotel lies directly under the flight path from Stansted airport.
I was only staying for one night before catching a plane out of Stansted. I found the to in the room to be very small. I would have needed a set of binoculars to watch it. Also the aircraft flying by every fifteen minutes was a major disturbance. I have stayed at hotel airports before and never experienced this. The staff are very friendly and they helped me to book my taxi to the airport with no problems. Not the place I would stay if you fancied a relaxing time before a flight out somewhere or if you wanted to stay for a longer duration due to the disturbance of the flight path overhead.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california usa

Very noisy uncomfortable place to stay.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
It is an old English manor built on a large plot of land before the airport was built. Presently it sits right under the landing flight path of airplanes. I could not sleep at all for all the days I was there. Besides my window was close to the road and that made the room very noisy day and night. I asked the staff to change my room several times but they blatantly refused. Last 2 days of my stay there was no hot water for shower. TV and power kept flickering. Staff lied to me about transportation and room availability. I was happy to leave this hotel and I don't think I should pay for this stay. I did not stay there I was tortured there.