Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't stay left as soon as we saw the room.

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Nothing - rooms are horrible. Expedia should go there and experience what we went through.
Cons: Don't have any dealings with this inn again.
Location: It is a beautiful sleepy town but no where to stay.
the room was not the same as was shown on your web site. 8 x 10 so small it was horrible. we left as they would not give us another room they said the small rooms are the rooms people get when they book through expedia. I called and asked for my money back but have not heard anything back. Your people said they had to get the money back from the griswold before I would get my money back. I recommend expedia not having anything to do with this inn again. I don't think I would book another room through expedia again as this left a really bad taste in my mouth for your web site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Very Nice Historic Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Convenience, location, friendliness, attached restaurant and Tavern, great room climate control
Cons: Some of the furniture is a little worn and could use replacing or a slipcover
Location: Essex Marina, CT River Museum, 2, 3, 5 mile around town walking maps, exactly equidistant from NYC and Boston(-2 hours either way)
Close to all shore points,shopping, and right on Main Street close to the Essex Marina. and CT River Museum.. Great restaurant, tavern and wine bar. Staff very nice, clean room though furniture a little tired. Truly historic with no TVs in rooms so you can get away from it all.( TV is available in living room next door if you must). You actually get a brass key with a numbered room number attached-no plastic! Temperature control of room was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by george from Medway, Ma.

want to go back

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was fabulous and the food and drink great. Beautiful Inn and beautiful town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gregg from Defiance,oh

Lovely !

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
All very nice. Would have loved a coffee pot in the room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gerald from North suburban Chicago

Never again - this Inn needs someone who cares !

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointing. Entire staff seems indifferent as to service and the people at the front desk seem like this is a interim position; they are more interested in restaurant patrons than hotel guests. We are in our seventies, despite having rooms, they put us on the third story, no elevator. No compassion or interest in our situation. The room had one chair, no place to set luggage. The bathroom was the size of our shower at home, no place to put sundry items. No TV. The creaky floors and two inch crack in the door didn't bother us. I would guess that the owners are putting no money in this investment and the staff is totally demoralized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Comfortable and OldFashioned

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Loved it. Beautiful old inn. A few points. It was a quiet Wednesday night in the winter and I still noticed the thin walls. You could hear folks walking around your floor etc. Also, the only TV is in a common room in another building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from East hartford

A good get away

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
I love the room the weather was great nice people what more can i said
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from Indiana

Connecticutt Charmer

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Just the authentic New England place we were looking for. Staff was welcoming and personable. The tavern had good food and great atmosphere. Nightly entertainment was excellent. Only disappointment was the continental breakfast.