Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cat from London, UK

Good. 3/5.

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Breakfast, and friendly staff
Cons: Lack of parking.
Location: Central to Southend.
The Terrace was well kept, however without parking, you have to use the local pay & display facilities - although these are reasonably priced, it was irritating. The member of staff we dealt with most was friendly and accommodating, although rather keen to get the cleaning done with the Hoovering starting at about 0930. The rooms were clean and tidy, unfortunately in room 10 (top floor, stairs only) the bed was quite hard and the shower head refused to stay put and kept drooping. The hotel had free wifi, which was nice. The breakfast was lovely, and served promptly - cereals and a "full English" were on offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tanya from Cambridge, UK Rr

Terrace guest house, southend

Posted Jun 8, 2012
Pros: Good stay
Cons: For people who live in a bungalow climbing to the attic room was an experience
Location: Sea view : need I say no more
The accomodation was excellently sited for the town, sea front and Pavilion Theatre. The place was clean, quiet, room was basic but clean and.comfortable. Breakfast was good.
2 out of 5
by Serena from London, UK

Not recommended, 2 out of 5

Posted Jun 6, 2012
Pros: Location. Overlooking the beach and less than 10 minutes walk from Southend Central station.
Cons: Smell of cigarettes in the room. Shabby soft furnishings.
Location: Very central. Good for the beach, town center and Adventure Island.
The location of the hotel is excellent and the staff were lovely, but the condition of the room was poor. The room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke, which was very unpleasant, and the soft furnishings were shabby. There were patched of paint missing from the walls, which I can't help thinking would have taken a matter if minutes to sort out. The hotel is fine for somewhere to crash, but enormously overpriced for what it is. I wouldn't stay here again
2 out of 5
by Tony from Somerset

All on the surface

Posted May 26, 2012
Pros: View
Cons: Tattiness
Location: On top of the cliff looking out to sea.
Hotel is in a great position overlooking the beach and this is its strongest point. It is in urgent need of a facelift. The extractor in our bathroom did not work, both taps need changing and water from the bath/shower puddled by the toilet. The doors on the wardrobe did not meet and the bed was uncomfortable. The whole place is tired and needs a good smartening up. The staff we met were pleasant and helpful but 2 nights was more than enough!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cold day

Posted Apr 10, 2012
2 channels on a tiny tv available. no hot water or pressure for cold water in the bathroom, forcing to go down 2! floors to a shared bathroom for a morning shower.
2 out of 5
by bernie from Cambridgeshire, UK

2 star rating

Posted Mar 18, 2012
Pros: close to the town
Cons: poorly maintained
Location: top of pier hill southend - on - sea
it, needs work done i.e painting it has no parking, when i phoned i was told it had parking it has not got it own, just a shame it could be a nice place it was not worth the money, we have stayed at much better hotels for that price. Also I noticed that there was no disabled access to the hotel or a lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Medwyn from Bedfordshire

Good Value for Money Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2011
Enjoyed my 5 day stay over the bank holiday. Conveniantly located for both beach, pier, attractions, shopping and less than 10 mins walk from Southend Central Station. Sea view and balcony was an unexpected bonus. As room was not en-suite the bathroom & toilet was always kept clean. The cooked breakfast was enjoyable, especially the bacon. However, I would recommend a larger variety of cereals and a better quality sausage. Overall, good value for money and I would book again if visiting Southend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unclean

Posted Aug 8, 2010
I made two huge mistakes when booking this hotel. The first was not listening to the bad reviews on Tripadvisor and the second was booking ahead and paying upfront and in full. The Hotel was very pretty on the outside but rather ugly on the inside (I have written review on Tripadvisor with photographs). The whole of the interior looked in need of a good refurbishment. My bedroom had peeling paintwork, threadbare carpets and a coating of dust covering everything; including the hangers in the wardrobe which i had to clean before hanging my clothes. I was there for four nights and my bed sheets were not changed once. There were no fresh towels left, I had to collar the staff and ask for clean towels on the third day. There was a full English breakfast provided; along with small pots of jam that had been used and refilled! I ate the cooked breakfast, trying desperately not to think about the state of the kitchen it had originated from. There are some good reviews on Tripadvisor, one in particular urging people not to pay attention to the bad reviews. I am inclined to think that these must have been written by hotel management or someone who has just got really lucky, and actually had their room cleaned! I would not recommend this hotel and anyone who decides to try it.....do not pay in advance!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tine

tussen jeugdherberg en hotel

Posted May 10, 2012
Pros: prettige houding
Cons: kamers gehorig en te dicht op elkaar
Location: aan zee, prima
meer iets voor jongeren. Het zit op en in elkaar, beetje benauwend. Erg veel last gehad van jongeren met harde stemmen en slaande deuren. Opvang was heel aardig en men deed zijn best, vooral bij het ontbijt, dat redelijk goed was. Ook met aandacht een taxi besteld.