Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Nice resort for our holiday vacation. Will visit again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Diane B., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your holidays with us! We do hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Always go back here

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Everything. Spa. Indoor pool. Food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Convenient
Beautiful. Delicious. Comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Second time here and going back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Diane B., Hotel Management
We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us Laurie. Please do visit us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the expected quality

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Room was not the quality expected for the rate. Linoleum floors, old fixtures in bathroom, old furniture, lumpy bed. The Fairfield Inn was much better. Not what we expected from a resort. Very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Beautiful setting. Lovely hotel. Very wonderful

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Hotel staff superb. Spa is great. Lap pool awesome. Great restaurants. Going back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pembroke, ontario

Gorgeous facility in country setting

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Staff, big rooms, site and the treats at the entrance are a draw!
Cons: Since we don't golf or go to the spa, the resort fee was lost on us. Maybe a list of cooking classes we could attend when we reserve?
Location: Close to Burlington which a beautiful small city worth visiting. We drove a little over an hour to Middlebury to morgan horse farm.
We stayed at the Essex on two separate occasions and were impressed with the friendly staff, beautiful buildings, cleanliness and comfort. If we were ever in that area again, we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Comfortable, clean and quite. Breakfast was very tasty. Only drawback was the 30 min drive to Burlington which I didn't expect. Would stay again, fairly priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Perfect location.. close to the outlets and close to Burlington.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Comfortable room, lovely grounds, spa/pools very n

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Garden is also food. Pools very nice. Staff helpful.
Cons: Some hammocks need repair. Kinda nickeled and dimed on the bill.
Location: Extensive shopping plaza and golf nearby. Everything else is a long way off. Hotel shuttle does airport and downtown (for a fee I believe).
Nice place for a couples' getaway, especially if you like spas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Wonderful resort in Vermont!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Great location near Burlington.
We stayed only one night and would have loved to stay longer. The staff at the reception were very efficient. When we checked in the room was in the main building but the noise due to the location of the AC system outside our room was very loud. We asked if it would be possible to get another room. Although, they were heavily booked they made every effort to find another room. The customer service is excellent and our room was great. We ate at the Tavern for lunch, again the service was prompt and polite and the food was very good. The grounds are spacious and well kept. Great place to stay near Burlington.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
very pleasant experience overall ,would recommend to others