Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Clean, family friendly place.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
The buildings and accommodation are very well kept. Staff are friendly and everyone seems to know each other. Very family friendly and safe. The restaurants in and around the area are good. Gregarios, the pool bar/restaurant and the beach restaurant were all excellent. The 90 miles pub/restaurant had lovely food but the service was VERY slow. You can put towels down around 8.30am to get a good position by the pool in the middle but pay for sun beds at the beach pool. Worth a trip to Torrellominos water park, had a good day there, although a bit pricey. We had a roof terrace in a 2 bed apartment which was difficult to access if you had young children but ok for teenagers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK but not good enough

Posted Aug 5, 2017
The resort was not easy to find however once there parking was ample and check in was easy. There are a number of charming period apartments on site but we had one above reception which was bland, without a balcony, by the main busy A7 road and lacking basic equipment like a bin! The site is small with little choice in restaurants (unlike sister Dona Lola - which is fab). The restaurant by the pool is underused and the staff overcharged us one night, by 20E. There is only one other restaurant close by which wasn't great. The pool is small but at least you're allowed to use floats in it. The onsite clubs are run well and varied, considering the lack of amenities and local facilities. The whole area seems a little run-down compared to other parts of the Costa, so a car is essential. Dona Lola for us next year!
5 out of 5
by Rodney

fabulous

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
fabulous place lovely apartment with private patio definitely go again
5 out of 5
by CHARLES PEATE

a place to return to

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was just what we wanted, good service nice staff good food and great restaurants in the area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top selfcatering resort

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Our favourite self catering resort in the area. Clean, spacious rooms and very friendly staff. We were upgraded to a bigger apartment which made the stay all the more enjoyable. Check in and check out handled very well. Ample and secure parking on site. The grounds are immaculately kept.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harrogate

Good hotel. Be careful about electricity costs.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Try to get rooms closer to pool rather than by reception and the main road. Nice feel and pool safe for kids. Close to beach and good local restaurant (the butcher). Would prefer this to the expensive Iberostar down the beach (& we are Iberostar club members). We were charged £50ish for 6 days electricity rather than £25 as advertised by Expedia. Have been chasing MacDonalds for a refund since August...Not good enough service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Clean hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Great location, beautiful, well maintained and immaculately clean. Lovely staff
Cons: Better insulation, soft closing hinges on doors,cupboards. Felt padding on table/chair feet. Remove wooden headboards from fixed position on the walls
Location: Stay at the pools, gym, local each. Visit the beautiful city of Ronda, go dolphin watching at the Rock of Gibraltar, tour Gibraltar. Visit Estapona
Arrival experience wasn't great as there were two children lady using the main t.v in the reception waiting area to play on their playstation. The children were screaming at each other and the poor Spanish lady on Reception couldn't communicate. The children's mother was actually in charge of the Reception and couldn't get them to be quiet and when she did try it made no effect. This resulted in us having to return the following day to receive our instructions.- not a good first impression !! Wonderful holiday, excellent resort with great facilities and close to amenities. Staff were lovelyand the complex was always tidy and clean. The only one criticism of the hotel apartment was that the walls are far too thin. You can hear everything , from tables moving, drawers opening, even someone on the toilet. this sadly results in lack of sleep which is not what a holiday is for.
5 out of 5
by James from Rochdale

Great stay

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great time at the Macdonald Villacana club, we were in apartment 234 which is one bed with a pull out sofa bed; this worked well for us as our kids (7,4) loved going on the sofa bed where they could watch tv whilst in bed (a real treat as no to in their bedrooms at home). Apartment spacious and everything which you'll need. We enjoyed going to the smaller of the two pools as this seemed to be less crowded and superior sun beds/umbrellas. The property is beautifully maintained and my only complaint could be I couldn't find the outside bins but that's testament to how well the property is set up Will definitely be checking availability for next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great family place to stay

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach and with a large swimming pool if you prefer the pool. Great restaurants for day and night and two bars on a terrace
Cons: Not having to pay for sunbeds every day
Location: Next to the beach Local to Puerto banus and marbella Estepona port for the market
Next to the beach with a large pool and lots of greenery to sunbathe on. Great restaurants to eat out in at night and a local supermarket for all your needs. Very clean rooms and landscaped gardens. Only downside is you have to pay for sunbeds every day which wasn't expected and we had to pay for Air con and was told it would be by the meter reading when actually it was just 5 euros a day and if we had known that we would have used more electricity rather than being careful.