Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombian in Costa Rica

Alma is a spot of peace.

Posted May 7, 2017
Alma is a small boutique style hotel. The beach is wide and long with few people around and perfect for great walks or jogging. The ocean will help you meditate or quiet your thoughts with its blue waves movement, also perfect for playing with boards. Rooms are colorful, neet and comfortable. Pools are Oki. Dinner is very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Pretty nice

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This hotel was nice. I really liked our oceanfront villa. It was great to see the ocean all the time. Even when we wanted to escape the heat. Ocean was fun and the two pools were good. Sunsets were beautiful every night. Breakfast was included so that was nice. For our other meals we drove and got food elsewhere- even to Jaco. Food at hotel was too expensive. Power went out one night, so it got a little hot. Also a problem since a member of our party has a CPAP. Checkout was not good. Like most things in Costa Rica the opportunity was taken to try to rip off foreigners. We prepaid with Expedia and they tried to make us pay almost 700$ in additional taxes. I grabbed my confirmation email from Expedia and then all of the sudden we didn't owe that money anymore. I hate to admit this but the checkout experience just poisoned the entire experience. We had planned on returning but we will not now. Thank you Expedia for some reason the hotel was scared of you and stopped them from robbing us of $700!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at a beachfront bungalow and it was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel on a beautiful beach.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Beautiful setting, responsive staff, pristine beach, good restaurant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Secluded area

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on CheapTickets
Nice resort but was too far from everything the average fare to anything that's remotely close is 35.00
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with practically a private beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Remote location with a beautiful beach and hardly anyone on it. nice for a secluded vacation. only one restaurant on location though and no bar. 2 other close restaurants at hotels though
5 out of 5
by Arthur

Beachfront and more

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely beautiful property with artistic flourishes throughout, extremely comfortable and large rooms, sitting on an endless private beach. Lovely pools, dining room. Very quiet. Hard to imagine anything better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room is not very comfortable

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Don 't like combination room and toilet,in room was the smell from canalization
5 out of 5
by GINA M. from Saratoga Springs NY

A great little modern Hotel

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
We love this Hotel! Arrived late and they greeted us at the gate. At 9:45 they still were able to serve us a wonderful dinner. This was the best Hotel for our family of 4. Room was very spacious w 2 queens bed were comfy and the maid made up the extra sofa huge bed for my son. Hotel has 20 rooms so its not crowded at all. the pools were clean and warm. There are lizards, macaws, huge crabs,humming birds,frogs,possum. The Beach was beautiful with small waves to body surf in. The water was clean and warm......not real salty (weird huh!) The manager gave us a flashlight to walk the beach at night and we loved all the crabs that we found. Nice and safe place to walk beach. Hotel is somewhat secluded but everything is in costa rica. There are no high rise hotels around and maybe 3-4 other hotels along the beach. There are mainly upscale homes along this beach.....miles of palm trees.This is not located in a tourist spot but it is only a short drive into town. Jaco is farther up the road. Pools are open 24hrs. which is important to us because we like to swim after dinner plus its great to swim at night especially when it is raining. We would go back to this Hotel again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

On the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Privacy and solitude
Cons: Better in room information
Location: Limited activities . Very quiet ,good for getting away from it all
Loved the location . Unspoilt Costa Rican Pacific Ocean beach Villa . Nestled in Coconut Palms and the view of the ocean all day and night . real relaxation guaranteed