Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pleasant and close to downtown. Friendly staff. Hotel was under some construction and parking is tight. Overall I would stay there again if the price is right
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Murphy's River Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! There is never a great time to pick to do yearly updates. We unfortunately have to do them in the fall and spring to avoid peak season (where we are sold out ever night). We have been replacing our stairways and painting decks and balconies. Sorry for the inconvenience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Disappointing

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The bull elk that visited the property
Cons: Improve the amenities and the employee attitude!
Room was comfortable but nothing more than that. Fireplace was wood burning, which was great, but then find out that only "duraflame" type logs could be burned and then they would provide log at additional cost! The overall most disappointing part of the stay was in the evening at the pool. At 8:40 (according to the clock at the pool) the "Pool Nazi"started in with the announcements over very muffled speaker that the pool would be closing in 15 minutes. Then, 5 minutes later, repeated the announcement and then at 8:55, according to the pool clock, said the pool was closed. A few minutes later, the employee came and started rolling the cover over the pool and before we were even dried off, had the cover on the hot tub. This was an extremely rude way to close the pool area! Overall, this hotel was not worth the 45% discounted nightly rate. I would have lost it had I paid full price. We will not return to this property!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Murphy's River Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am glad you were able to see the Elk that like to wonder through town. We do start giving warnings before closing time for our pool. This allows our guest time to take a shower in the pool house or dry off and change into their clothes. Most our guests find it very helpful. They may not be right to the minute on the announcements but the main clock in the pool house says 9 PM when the doors are locked and the lights are turned off. I am sorry if while you were drying off the staff was covering the pool and hot tub. These are things that must be done before they can lock the pool house and normallycan be done while guests are finishing getting ready to leave. We hope the next hotel you select will fit your needs more. Thank you for staying with us. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missouri

We had a beautiful view of mountains and river

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Bathrooms
Location: Location perfect walking distance to everything
Was a great place to stay. We had a fireplace which made it very comfortable and cozy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by fd, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Peaceful and Relaxing

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness of the room, staff, breakfast, the pool and spa, the extra amenities (popcorn, movies, games, fridge, microwave).
Cons: The comfort of the bed, and sealing the AC so that when it's windy we can't feel the draft.
Location: Rocky Mountain National Park, the town of Estes, hiking, and Antonio's Pizza!
Our stay was wonderful! The staff was amazing, friendly and exceeded our expectations. One of the best continental breakfasts that was fully stocked and clean throughout the morning. The spa and pool were nice. We liked the fact that the spa was for 18+. The room was great and very clean. It had lots of nice little touches. The bed was a little uncomfortable, and during the really windy night we could feel the wind blowing in through the air conditioner. These two minor shortcomings were made up for with how great everything else was. There were beautiful views all around and lots of extras- the movies, games, popcorn and free picture with frame! We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Murphy's River Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our many amenities such as relaxing in our 18+ hot tub. I wish I would of known about the AC unit, we do keep extra seals on hand and fall/ winter here at 7500 can be very windy at night. We look forward to having you stay again with us soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Nice place with running Creek on property

Posted Oct 17, 2017
It was walking distance to restaurants and shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Murphy's River Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back and visit Estes Park again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Good location

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Nice place to stay that's right alongside the stream and a walking path. Close to town and to Rocky Mountain National Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Murphy's River Lodge, Hotel Management
Barbara, Thank you for your review! Our river rooms are very popular and with being only a 5 minute walk from downtown is a big plus. We hope you return and stay with us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arvada, CO

Balcony by the river

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice hotel in Estes Park. Small room but exactly what we needed for one night's rest! Very quiet. Balcony with table for our morning coffee with pleasant river running below.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Murphy's River Lodge, Hotel Management
Diane, Thank you for your review! Our river rooms are very popular. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

On the River

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Short river walk to restaurants and shops downtown. An elk came strolling by one morning just across the river from our patio. Excellent access to RMNP.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Murphy's River Lodge, Hotel Management
Hank, Thank you for your review! I am glad you got to see the elk from your patio. We hope you return and stay with us again soon!
5 out of 5
by Nancy

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night. The facility is old but. Even updated. Good breakfast . Got there after hours & able to get in with little difficulty
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Annette, Hotel Management
Nancy, Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting beautiful Estes Park. We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again soon!
5 out of 5
by Randall and Kimberly Bisel from Greeley, ,CO

Wonderful in Estes but outside

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
The only negative is parking when they are full. A real pain when people can't park straight it really makes it hard when there is a wasted parking space. Even with that we recommend and will stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Annette, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Kimberly. We agree our parking is tight and we always are hoping people are considerate of others by only taking one spot. Sorry you had a hard time finding a spot. We look forward to having you stay with again!