Ratings based on 1,337 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Beautiful Hotel in Quaint Village

Posted Dec 4, 2017
I have stayed at The Stanley Hotel many times before and I love it just as much now as ever! The staff is very pleasant and accommodating and the views are spectacular!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Orb in front of 217! My wife had a the feeling a presence was with her in the women’s bathroom too. Super fun experience and we had a fabulous Thanksgiving Day and meal because of The Stanley Hotel :) We will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Beautiful historic hotel. I would recommend the tour! Take time to walk the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville Ky

Rich history..beautiful views

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Went to the Stanley for a concert (Rick Springfield) but I have always wanted to stay there over night. The view of the mountains was amazing...loved sitting in the lobby area by the fireplace. Room was very nice ...the bathroom was the worst ..honestly needs some attention..no water pressure and not very attractive or consistent with the rest of the experience. The bar service was a little slow but they were packed. The concert venue was intimate and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stanley not Asperia

Posted Nov 13, 2017
First off. I was expecting to stay at the Stanley Hotel, not a hotel by the Stanley. Also was expecting to be able to do the ghost tour. After making reservations and making the trek to Estes Park, upon checking in I found out that I will be staying at the asperia hotel which is a short walk from the Stanley but really nothing to like it. I asked the front counter at least can I take the ghost tour. She said of course. Go down stairs and make a reservation. Well. Come to find out that the tour was booked up until I had to leave the next day. Needless to say I was very disappointed. Nothing that I expected. We were able to walk around the hotel which was very cool. And the asperia hotel is very nice just not what I thought I was paying the premium for. Next time I will know and make sure. It is deceiving.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moline, Illinois

Stanley Hotel Estes Park Colorado

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Hotel is great but I was told not to eat there. Food Inspectors there this summer, numerous citations against the Restaurant. My bathroom could have been cleaner, smelled, corners of floor were dirty. Bathtub didnt drain well and needed to be reconditioned. Room was #416, stayed the night of November 2nd. Went on the Ghost Tour Saturday the 4th. We were in front of room #217, the couple that were staying in it were listening to our tour guide. I asked them if I could take EMF readings of room and take pictures. They said yes so I took readings and pictures of the room. The conditions of their room were emaculate compared to my room. Clean bathroom, nice chairs and great bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Birthday weekend.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
It was off season, so the hotel wasn't crowded and the weather remained beautiful. Because of my birthday, they upgraded us to a large, king room in the front of the hotel with views. I think there are only 100 rooms in the main house, so that is a must when you request a room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great historical hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, Comfortable, Beautiful Property
Cons: There is a lot of chaos just due to the tourist attraction of the hotel. Keeping that a bit more separated would be welcome.
Location: The town is quaint but the short drive and entrance fee to Rocky Mountain National Park is 100% worth it.
I felt like we were transported back in time while staying at The Stanley. The rooms are quaint, but they are comfortable, which I really didn't expect from a hotel built in the early 1900's. They have brought it up to date with keeping it's historical elements. My only complain is that the staff weren't overly friendly and the tourist numbers were HIGH. Like very high. Almost suffocating. We weren't able to get a table in the restaurant or even a seat at the bar, which was frustrating considering how much we paid
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

historic

Posted Oct 27, 2017
there is no air conditioning. the rooms are not modern, they are clean and comfortable. We stayed in the lodge which is MUCH quieter then the main hotel as there are no tours tromping through all day. We enjoyed our stay but we like old historic buildings and a grand setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a view!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2017
This hotel was perfect for what we were looking for and I highly recommend you stay here. The rooms are not as flashy as other rooms we’ve stayed in but that’s not the point... you see the real gem is the fact that you can enjoy the most amazing views from the comfy couches on the porch which overlooks the entire valley... the bar serves the best old fashioned you will ever have, and the hotel is a special treat to anyone who appreciates fine woodwork...