Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Quality Normandy Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Most things; service, ambience, and food especially.
Cons: I think we may have been unlucky in our room location. It was on the top (3rd) floor and the room (not a guest room) next door was noisy.
Location: This was in December. A number of the local shops etc were not open, but we enjoyed a walk along the promenade. There were supermarkets nearby.
My wife and I visited the Dormy House as part of a long weekend break. The cost of the two nights there were more than we usually spend in France, but was comparable to the Parador hotels that we have enjoyed in Spain. The hotel is dramatically situated on a headland above a pebbled beach and our room enjoyed a view (just) of the sea and on the second day of some surfers taking advantage of some significant, pre-storm breakers. We had two meals in the hotel restaurant, both memorable, the first night from the menu and the second from the carte. They provided some very good fish, and on the second night I had a perfectly cooked fillet steak which was too big for me to quite finish. Service was prompt and polite - nearly friendly - and in France!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
easy walk to town. excellent restaurant beautiful setting. would hoghly recommend
5 out of 5
by brian from new york

magnificent!

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel, the room, the location and the view - wow! simply magnificent!! We have been traveled to everywhere and stayed at countless beautiful hotels. Dormy House would be our top 5 best. Room is large, clean and tastefully decorated. The view of the the Manneporte cliff from our room is stunning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lili from Zürich Switzerland

Very enjoyable

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: The view, the nice cozy room, the staff, the surrounding of the Hotel, all in fact.
Cons: Food is good but could be more daring in tastem however, I only had 2 meals.
Location: Great Location, Etretat is amazing.
Lovely rooms, nice inside of Hotel, very friendly staff. Surroundings of Hotel are beautiful. The view from the Restaurant, the bar and the breakfast room is marvellous. The Food is nice but a Little overpriced in my opinion. But just the view is worth it. And all the staff are very, very helpful and friendly, I would always come back and recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX - USA

Very nice view & quiet location.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The view, the location, the style.
Loved it! Really peaceful and the view is amazing. Will go again as a couple.
4 out of 5
by Pat

Quiet Nice location with great views

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels
Very nice location. Room was very spacious and very clean. The hotel is well located on the "Falaises d'Etretat", short walk to the beach. Great garden overlooking the beach. The restaurant has a great panoramic view, staff at the restaurant was not very friendly. The food was OK but nothing exceptional. The prices were too high for the quality served. But overall a great place to go for a night or two.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views, a few room foibles

Posted Aug 18, 2012 on Hotels
This was my second stay at this hotel, Oddly enough they put me in the same room, 55. The shower design is ridiculous. One can neither get a proper shower, nor avoid flooding the entire room. The room has been redecorated since my last visit, which sounds good, but the new rugs slip and slide, we only avoided accidents by hiding them under the beds. The views are great, staff pleasant, and restaurant delightful, but watch out for those rugs!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dormy Horel, Very Nice !!

Posted Nov 27, 2011 on Hotels
Stayed one night at the Hotel Dormy. Probably the best place I stayed at, while in France. Great location !! Fantastic views of the wonderful cliffs. Room was very clean , high def TV. Bathroom was the best. Hardly anyone spoke english, but that didn't matter. Would recommend to everyone. Ertretat is just a spectacular place to visit and the village makes one want to move there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

A wonderful retreat with a gorgeous view!

Posted Oct 24, 2011
This hotel sits on a hill overlooking the town of Etretat, the beach, and those magnificent white cliffs. Our room was great. Very clean and spacious with free wfi in the room. It is a hike down to the beach and the town, but not too terrible. Signs for the hotel could be a little more clear, we had to look for it and missed the entrance the first time by.