Ratings based on 924 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean, up to date, comfy and affordable hotel!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We were moving some items from Mendocino to Seattle and made a couple stops along the way. On a budget, we had a price range of $50-$75 a night; this fit our budget. The staff was friendly, the bed was comfy and the room was nicely designed. Lots of hot water and very clean. Love the pergo flooring too. It was a welcoming site after spending the previous night in an Inn that didn't offer any of the above. For the price and location, it's a great deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Michelle, Receiving your positive feedback is a pleasure. Thank you for making note of our recent updates in our rooms. We appreciate your compliments to our standard for cleanliness and comfort. Your comments will be shared with our staff members to encourage them to keep up the great work they are doing. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and deliver another comfortable and worthy stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Older motel, cozy and clean

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The staff is friendly helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. Take slippers; no carpet. Effective heating/cooling system. One of the best, most comfortable beds I've ever slept on, in each of the 3 rooms I've rented!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Marcia - On behalf of our team we thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and their level of service. We are also pleased to know that you found our beds to be among the most comfortable you have ever slept in. That is an awesome compliment! We thank you again for the positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back for stay number four.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from eugene oregon

awesome room with nice staff

Posted Nov 17, 2016
needed a place for a coupledays and found this online. so glad I did. beautiful room with awesome staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Jamie, Thank you for leaving us feedback from your most recent stay. We are also glad that you found us online and that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. Our well-appointed accommodations are there to meet our guests' needs, so we appreciate your kind words. Please come see us again the next time you are visiting Eugene!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

America's Worst Value Inn

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: It was close to the Lane Events Center where the Convention was being held.
The Water fixtures in the bathroom including the shower head and sink were loose and leaked . The Shower head adjustment didn't work properly. The Toilet continued to run after flushing. some outlets did not work. The refrigerator was incredibly loud and made a loud, coming on and off all night. Every time it shut off a cycle it made a loud Thumping sound that woke us up. It was an incredibly small space. The parking spots had no numbers, so someone else was always using ours in front of the unit. Worst of all they showed a picture on the website of a continental breakfast that included fruit, english muffins, orange juice, coffee and cereal and in reality they had no fruit or muffins and the juice was a powdered Tang mix, with the cereal being Fruit Loops and Bran, (and no hot chocolate mix ). Definitely a lame motel and we won't ever return. Also what little they offered for breakfast closed at 9am!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Roger, Feedback from our guests is always appreciated as it allows us to better understand what aspects of our property we can address to further improve the guest experience we provide. We encourage all of our guests to let us know of any and all issues they encounter while staying with us so we may have the chance to find a solution and make your stay a little more comfortable. After reviewing your comments, we will have maintenance inspect the various issues you mentioned in regards to the bathroom and the noisy refrigerator. We apologize for the difficulty you experienced when looking for parking. Although we have free parking for all our guests, we do not have assigned spaces. We are also sorry to hear you did not find our selection of breakfast items to be appealing. Given the chance, we hope to be able to provide you with a better stay some time in the future. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we wish you happy travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Quick check in, breakfast was very. Basic and nothing available that was gluten free, even though the hotel had been notified
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to provide your review regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear you were pleased with our service upon your arrival. However, we apologize that you were not satisfied with our breakfast options. We will use your constructive feedback to improve upon our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Great staff and comfortable accommodations with a complimentary breakfast other than donuts. Remember, you get what you pay for. It's not the Hyatt so don't expect that. But it is clean, secure and comfortable. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
It is wonderful to hear we successfully provided you with a comfortable stay. Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing America's Best Value Inn Eugene. We strive to provide clean comfort paired with great service, all at an affordable price. During your next visit to Eugene, we would love to host you again for another hassle free stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glendale

Close to downtown Eugene. Friendly staff.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Hotel was just dirty and outdated. Cable didn't work. Bathroom was dirty. Sheets had holes in them. Also sheets had plenty of stains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Kyle, We appreciate your feedback as we strive to continually improve. We wish we had known of the various issues you experienced during your stay with us, so we could have rectified the situation. We would consider it an honor to be given another opportunity to provide you with a great stay, should your travels bring you back to Eugene.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
I was looking for a cheap hotel room and this was clean, staff was friendly, and was a good deal!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing America's Best Value Inn during your visit to Eugene. We are happy to hear we provided you with the great value you were seeking by delivering clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price. We would love to host you again during any subsequent visits! Thanks again for the review!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salida Ca.

worst parking ever!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: It was cheap and clean that's it.
Cons: The person at the counter did not care about customer service he was rude and the continental breakfast was the worst I have ever seen.
we came back to our hotel after a great 36 year aniversery day and the very small parking lot was so full that we could hardly gat our car in the lot and when we finally got in with out damage to our car there were no parking slots left,They had let 4 full size tractors and 2 large pickups with trailers park in the lot as well as at least 4 large work trucks so there was very little room for regular cars.I went to the office at 10 oclock at night and he very rudely led me to a space that was tucked on the far side of the lot bettwen to buildings that we just squized into.That was the worst night but every night was very hard to find parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Congratulations on your anniversary celebration! Thank you for choosing America's Best Value Inn Eugene for your clean and comfortable accommodations. We are glad you found our rooms to be clean and affordable as we strive to deliver the value our guests seek when traveling. It saddens us to hear you were not satisfied with all aspects of your visit. Being located in such a central and busy area has its benefits. Unfortunately, one of the downsides is sometimes it may be difficult to find available parking, as we do not charge for parking. We are very sorry you felt our staff member was not friendly while he assisted you in finding an available parking space. Again, thank you for your compliments towards our accommodations and we appreciate you notifying us of the issues you encountered. We hope to see you again and provide you with better service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coastal, Oregon

Tight Parking, Ancient Rooms

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly and the location was close to everywhere we wanted to go.
Cons: Parking needs to be addressed. Rooms and furniture, (mostly bedding) is in dire need of update/upgrade.
Parking was close and tight, hard to maneuver. Someone dinged my cars paint job. Had to request towels from office, as there were none in room upon arrival. Shower head was broken and felt like taking shower under a fire hose. Electrical sockets were old and loose, plugs would not stay in them. Bedding seemed clean, but mattress was hard and uncomfortable, the pillows were also unusable because of hardness. Staff was friendly at check in and check out. We felt we got ripped off even at the so called, "discounted pricing". I would not stay again nor would I recommend this place to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Raj., Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate your feedback. Comments from our guests are always welcome as they help us continually improve our property. The manager could have changed your room if there were rooms available, or fixed if anything was not working correctly, since the manager lives on site. Thank you for your business and we hope you give us another chance