Ratings based on 1,005 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We were very happy with the Valley River Inn. The lobby and dining room were beautiful. Any complaints in the reviews about the cost of the restaurant seem a bit unwarranted and discount the fact that it is a very nice restaurant that overlooks the river. The pool area was great and the kids loved it. I would suggest they buy a few more umbrellas for shade out there. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. The A/C worked well and the deck overlooking the pool was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Thanks so much Brian. We really appreciate the nice review and the suggestions for additional umbrellas. Hope to see you back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Bait and switch

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Stop the false adverting. Remodel rooms to reflect lobby freshness.
Location: In strip mall. So your are close to restaurants and shopping if that is what you are looking for. Not peaceful!
Website shows you fancy, re- modeled lobby and river views. Outdated carpet, dirty elevators, not easy access to river walk. Not fridge is room, but you can pay $4.00 for a bottle of water. Was told we had a "courtyard" view...room had view of parking lot and freeway. Unable to change room since they were booked...right! Bathroom had hair on floor and sink. Very disappointing place. Never again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Still looking for a decent room in Eugene

Posted Jun 4, 2017
One bed blanket had holes in it and looked like it had not been cleaned in a while. No refrigerator in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Please accept my apology for the linens we provided. We are normally better than what you experienced, so thank you for telling me. I will be sure to speak with my housekeepers as you should always receive a quality product.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank, Ca

Best Hotel in Eugene

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Everything. I Loved everything about this Hotel and I have stayed in hundreds literally! I've never been treated so well, very accommodating
Cons: Not sure. My stay was perfect in every way.
Location: The walk around the River, kayaking, bicycling, fishing, shopping, loads of restaurants.
I stayed at Valley River Inn from May 18-22 2017. The hotel is a beautiful stay with a beautiful view of the Willamette river with plenty to do in the vicinity. The staff is very pleasant and very accommodating. The best and I've stayed in many hotels. The great room has a beautiful fire place that made most seem less than adequate. The restaurant has patio seating or indoor with a view also of the Willamette River. And the food was top notch. I was taken back by all of the things this hotel offered and again the staff was over the top! With a gleeimg pool, and large jacuzzi, I felt right at home so much that I've already booked my stay for August 2017. If you are looking for a great hotel stay and want to be treated right by a staff that cares, then I would suggest this hotel. Priced at a great rate. I give this hotel a 5 star rating. Thank you Valley River Inn I will see you in August. Sincerely Patricia D. Lehman Burbank, Ca.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Cheryl , Hotel Management
Sure appreciate the wonderful review of the hotel and service. Thank you Patricia...... and let's meet when you return in August. Cheryl Martin, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Enjoyed room, food, beverages and walking paths by the water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. I agree we have an amazing location right on the Willamette River.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

great advertising poor performance

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: not enough
Cons: better cleaning, better communication, better sound proofing,(about two hundred feet from freeway,and self closing room doors slam quite loud)
Location: good restaurants within walking distance. the roads around the hotel are a little tricky to figure out.
arrived to a slightly busy lobby waited my turn and was greeted by a very curt desk clerk who gave very poor directions to my room. after finding my room way in the back on the ground floor with a great view of the parking lot (like most if the rooms from what I could see) not what I had requested but was told that is all that is left its a busy weekend.the room had cob webs on the ceilings a sticky spot in the middle of the floor, rock hard beds, flat pillows and a coffee maker that sounded like someone was strangling a duck. over all I was disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay for Eugene Marathon

Posted May 9, 2017
Awesome that it is right near the mall and near the running/bike path at the river... good food... comfortable beds... jacuzzi... free shuttle to marathon... we were happy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good choice not recommended

Posted May 8, 2017
Smells room, AC was not wor, room service is bad, shower water was not work,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Stayed overnight for business meeting. Food is way to expensive for what you get
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice Room. Eco-friendly

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Location: Its right off the freeway. And its in the far corner of a mall parking lot. with a very short walk you could do some shopping
It is a bit run-down on the outside, but don't let that put you off. Its nice on the inside. The room was really large and we had a little balcony overlooking the parking lot. The thing I most liked was the tamper-proof shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser in the shower. Its way better than those tiny bottles and cuts down on fodder for landfill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Cheryl , Hotel Management
Thanks Melvercettl! We take pride in our green practices and I am happy you noticed our efforts. Thank you for staying with us and I always love the Tax Free shopping in Oregon too. Every penny counts, right? Hope you plan another trip back soon. Cheryl Martin, GM