Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR


Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Cheery helpful staff, large spacious room suites with patios, outdoor gardens
Cons: some of the light fixtures did not work - and room lighting was dim
Location: a seed and garden store - the Pink House BBQ is great Historic Cottage Grove downtown bookstore
My husband and I were on an adventure for my birthday. The Village Green is a real paradise within the mass of chain hotels motels that we have in this country. They have created ambiance within a lush garden like setting. The ranch style decor is comfy and welcoming. All the staff were friendly and helpful, attentive to our needs. There is a sense of pride of ownership in this classic Tom McCall type resort -- I would definitely plan on staying there again and with a group of friends to enjoy the fireplace in the lobby, the restaurant, and the gardens with friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good basic motel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: gardens, breakfast, lobby sitting area
Cons: rooms are pretty dated, lighting in the room is poor, especially if you want to read
Nice people, beautiful grounds/gardens. The rooms are pretty dated, but we would stay there again. It was quiet, pleasant, clean, and the breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great one night stop over

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We stop here often and while it's not ritzy, it's clean, comfortable and a good free breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland OR.

If you just need a bed to lay your head

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The staff were all nice and friendly.
Cons: a completely new facility.
Location: Just a place to stop along the way to other destinations.
Have not stayed of been by the Village Green since 1962 when it was the Jewel of the Willamette Valley. Apparently there have been few if any updates since then and the once meticulously cared for garden area is now mostly an over grown garden. This is not the property it once was. It is OK if you need a place to crash for the night and there are no other facilities close with vacancies. It is not a property I would return to and proves the fact that you really can't rely on your memories of what a place was years ago in your past. Truly sad and most likely time to raze the place and put up a new modern facility if the traffic would support such an investment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Quaint hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Outdated but comfortable room. Very nice fireside bar/lounge with nice entertainment in evening.
4 out of 5
by Richard C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Old and tired.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Very overpriced. No refrigerator or microwave. I'm sure it was very nice in the 50's but needs a lot of work as it is very tired. The room was large and had 2 chairs plus a desk and chair. The room was very clean
2 out of 5
by Kim from San Jose

Not booking here again.

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
At first we thought it was great. It had a front and back door that led to a park like area. It was very easy to take our small dogs out to do their business but in the middle of the night the toilet overflowed. We didn't want to call at that hour & have our sleep disturbs any more as we were just traveling through and had another 8 hour drive the next day. So we let them know the next morning at check out. A week and a half later we wanted to book a room with them on our way home and asked for a $30 accommodation for the inconvenience of the 1st night but were told no because we didn't ask for any accommodation at the time. Really? That's how you treat your customers? I booked elsewhere and it turned out it was nicer and cheaper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Losy rooms for the price.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
The hotel has two sets of buildings. It seems one set of new buildings for whites and another set of old buildings for others. On June 16th night the TV controller did not work. We have to go to front desk more than two times. They changed our room to new set of building. The new room was great. On June 19th on our return trip we asked for the room in new building area. They told us they are sold out. We were given the room in old building. During our walk after dinner we found out that they were not sold out. The bath room soap and towel were used before we checked in. It seems bait and switch is used. We are very dissapointed that Expedia recomends such a place
1 out of 5
by Cynthia

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was smelly