Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Victorian house

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
This is a pristinely restored Victorian house in a neighborhood of nationally registered Victorian houses. It's in a wonderful neighborhood to walk around in. We really enjoyed our dinner and the complimentary glass of wine. The bed was one of the most comfortable of our travels and breakfast exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hospitality at its best.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our one night stay here. The welcome was warm and genuine. We were offered a free drink at the inviting bar and there were complimentary nibbles in the lobby. Our room was most comfortable with a Keurig coffee machine and there were abundant toiletries in the swish bathroom. We returned to the bar in the evening. There was an excellent wine selection and tasty bar food. Breakfast was included in the room rate and the food was good. This was a gem of a place and we wish we could have stayed longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
The Carter House is clearly the best place to stay in Eureka but our particular room was not great. It was late September so warm days and cool nights but our room was uncomfortably warm with no air unit. We were told by the young man who checked us in we could control the room temp but found out the next day it was for heat only. When we tried to open the windows our room was directly across the street from a gas station which was bright and loud so we had to close the window and drapes. We finally located a fan in the armoire which helped but neither one of us slept well. We also thought we had reservations in the hotel restaurant the only evening we stayed there but because of some mix up they had us down for the next night. They squeezed us in at an earlier time and we both ordered duck confit (which we love) but it was clearly just roasted duck sliced thin and a little tough. On a positive note it is in a beautiful historic area so walking around is fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yeppoon, QLD, Australia

Old world ambiance

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Breakfast service
Location: Historical part of town, great birding opportunities
Beautiful hotel, welcoming and good hospitality, great food but slow service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

West Coast traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were on a West Coast trip with friends and decided to visit the Redwoods for our last day. That called for an overnight stay and we picked Eureka and the Carter House Inns. Very happy decision on all counts. Unfortunately we could not get a dinner reservation but the staff arranged a reservation at a local seafood restaurant. It was terrific. We enjoyed our overnight stay very, very much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You will enjoy your stay

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very great experience. Pleasant with wonderful surroundings. Happy hour was great. People that came into this location seemed to want to be there. Just good energy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Gem in Eureka

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We were staying one night on our way through the redwoods and home to Washington. We were very late in our arrival and were pleasantly surprised that this was a true "inn" . Wonderful greeting, quaint bar, and an award winning restaurant. We were too late to order dinner in the dining room but they served us in a private room outside of the bar...excellent and the wine list is not to be believed! In Eureka! We were upgraded to a king suite which was nice. We were sorry we arrived so late as we had to move on the next day.