Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

comfortable, clean and close to HSU.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We came to tour HSU and after a six hour drive we were very pleased to find such a nice room for the price. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of counter space. We only spoke with one employee when we checked in and he was very nice. It also was very quiet so we got plenty of rest. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Finally! The repairs and redecorating is done!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We come to Arcata several times a year. HoJo is our stay of preference. They've been under construction for the last year and have had workmen in the corridors, even on Saturdays and Sundays. They've finished, and the place is beautiful. Tasteful, nice color combinations and everything in its place again. A good night's sleep at a moderate price. Nice breakfast, too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by david C, Hotel Management
Dear Kent, A few days after your stay with us, we converted our property to a Comfort Inn. This allows us to bring a better product, with more amenities and allow you to hold us to a higher set of expectations (HoJo is an economy brand, while Comfort is upper midscale). One of the first things noticed was an improvement to the coffee, and little things like staff courteousness are all among the changes we are making. We do hope that you will continue staying with us since we've raised the new flag, so that you might see all the changes in their entirety.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
I liked the variety for there breakfast the room's were big and very nice the beds were hard but everything else was pleasant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

"Under Construction"

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Cons: That whole section should have been off limits to patrons. Management should have never rented room on that floor while they were working on it.
Location: Near Humboldt State University. Our granddaughter was starring in a play Saturday night.
To get to our room, we had to brush past a plastic curtain, walk on plastic covering the rug and dodge workers. They were updating the bathroom next door to our room. And WERE THEY UPDATING! The workers were cutting and reinstalling drywall until 5 pm Saturday. (They left the area very clean. We of course heard the industrial vacuum cleaner through the walls.) SUNDAY MORNING AT 8:00 AM the workers were back, cutting out electrical outlets in the drywall with an electric reciprical saw. Sorry to say, we left white dust tracks as we went to the front desk to check out. I hope they finish soon. It's a nice facility, and we'll stay there next time. They should have taking $20.00 or more off our bill per night for the inconvenience. Better yet, give us a credit for our next stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

Stay was fine...didn't expect construction

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable
Cons: Let people know about the construction and offer extra night stay or partial refund.
Location: Great location. Came to visit family who teach at local college.
Didn't expect construction in our hallway for 12 hours a day. Didn't disrupt our visit but would've expected a much lower rate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was good ,nothing special but comfortable. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We stay here every time we go to arcata. It's clean people are friendly we like it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Sink in the bathroom kept plugging up and it advertises for place to eat an there was no book in the room to help. We asked the front desk and the woman was very unhelpful. Said she didn't know about the area for food service either. Amenities offered wasn't all available either.