Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
excellent staff, room very clean and quiet, need more paking space. the swimming pool is very nice and clean my kids and nephews loved it. The beds are very comfortable and clean.The rooms had mini fridge and mircrowave which came very handy especially because I have baby. The close by the located you have fast food to choose to get a quick bite or late snack. Gas stations are also close by the hotel and the freeway is very close.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There were so many people who were homeless around

Posted May 12, 2017
We thought to never stay in that area again, the homelessness was awful and the strange people staying at that hotel, there was yelling and we found old cigarette butts in the bathroom. Never again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

close to Redwoods

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Hotel Staff was very friendly.
Cons: n/a
Location: Redwoods are close
Great location, close to Eureka and Redwoods. we arrived late yet hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Rom had a shet and one thin blanket we froze. I guess they expected you to use the lousy heater. The in room fridge kept running and running and you could not unplugs it. Breakfast was pitiful we went out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Half way between National and Humboldt Parks

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Clean with indoor pool.
Location: Redwood Trees both north and south at the National park and the Humboldt state Park.
This was a nice easy place to stay, with many food options, as long as you seek them before 8pm, and still some after midnight. The room was clean, and the pool was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We had a pleasant stay here. Our room was clean and updated. It was quiet and we got a good nights rest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by David C, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we can do differently to improve the experience of our guests. We are very serious about our hotels, and have used feedback from guests like you to make our hotels to become some of the most beloved hotels in Humboldt. Thank you for helping! We hope to see you here again soon, so that we can prove that we are serious about our guests! Warm regards, David Cisco Public Relations Manager Day's Inn & Suites
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse hotel I have stayed at

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We get to the hotel and explain that we are leaving a day short and the lady at the counter tells me to call a number and see what can happen. That was ok. We then proceed to our room, which was very unclean. There were used condoms all over the room. That was very gross. We then get another room and the wifi is not working. We had to call the manager and he didn't do anything about refunding us or trying to fix the wifi. Our time at the hotel was just not pleasant and the staff did not seem to care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by David C, Hotel Management
Dear AJ, Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we can do to improve guest experience. On behalf of my staff and myself, I do sincerely apologize for your experience at our hotel. We do pride ourselves on our clean rooms and our dedicated fiberoptic-fed wifi; I will be contacting you personally to see what we can do to work this out. As you saw, as soon as you brought your complaint to the front desk, we moved you immediately; We encourage every guest to bring things to our attention so that we can remedy the situation as soon as possible. We are also changing our procedures for front desk to alert more than one manager so that we can ensure that every guest is happy with their stay. Warm regards, David Cisco Public Relations Manager Day's Inn and Suites Arcata.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santee

Great stay!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
We booked our room and saw later it was a smoking room. We don't smoke but it was the last available room so I thought. We got to the hotel at 930pm after driving 12 hrs. And the attendant asked us if we really wanted the smoking room, we said no not really and she got us another room. We appreciated her offering, cuz we would of just dealt w/it. Great service and great room. It was roomy, comfortable and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by David C, Hotel Management
Dear Leinaala, Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we should consider changing. Reviews like yours help us ensure that everyone loves our hotel! Thank you! Warm regards, David Cisco Public Relations Manager Day's Inn & Suites Arcata
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Tidy and Hospitable but Too Noisy for Us

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Nicely remodeled, close to beaches and redwood groves, very nice management/staff, and most importantly, dog-friendly!
Cons: The box springs!! So odd!
Location: Beaches, redwood hikes, Humboldt State University are all close by. Arcata is ok but restaurants not too accommodating for dogs, we found.
We stayed at this Days Inn while on a quick trip to the redwoods with our small dog. On the plus side, the management of this hotel is great, very welcoming, friendly and accommodating, and the dog-friendly rooms, all on the first floor, were nicely remodeled with modern wooden floors. On the minus side, the walls/floors are very thin so we could hear every footstep above us, and the boxsprings for our beds were the strangest ever, so weirdly loud, every movement elicited a creepy bunch of noises...hard to even describe! I'm sure most of the time, the hotel is pretty peaceful since it's in a small town, but we happened to be there over a holiday weekend so there were people outside our room socializing at 11:30 at night. Overall, I bet on a normal weekend, if I'd brought earplugs, everything might have been fine, but we cut our stay short due to various noises. The management kindly refunded our money even with less than 24 hours notice which I was really impressed by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by David C, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny, Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. It is feedback from guests like you that have helped mold our hotel during our remodel to become a beloved motel of travelers through our area! On behalf of my staff and myself, I apologize for your experience at our hotel. A quick call to the front desk will result in us responding to the matter, asking the other persons to return to their room or otherwise depart. We want you to feel well rested when you leave! Warm regards, David Cisco Guest Relations Manager Day's Inn & Suites Arcata
5 out of 5
by Grady

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Will recommend to friends and family. Definitely will stay again in the future. Two thumbs up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Grady, Thank you for taking time to write a review! We appreciate all guest feedback, as it allows us to know what we are doing well and what we need to consider changing. It is feedback from guests like you that have helped mold our hotel during our remodel to become a beloved motel of travelers through our area! Warm regards, David Cisco Guest Relations Manager Day's Inn & Suites Arcata