Ratings based on 857 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from erie, mi

Redwood trip

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The hotel has been restored to previous glory. Our room was beautiful. The hotel is old, there are still some areas to be redone. All in all grewat place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Historic hotel in the process of restoration

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and good breakfast.
Cons: Room was a bit musty.
Struggling to reopen after multiple owners and closing, this beautiful old hotel was once the gem of the city. Mostly new systems - our shower was great! The bed was very good. The area is safe, but also struggling. It was mostly empty when we stayed, but our room was comfortable and the staff very friendly. I'd recommend it partly because it was a unique experience and also because I support their efforts to bring this beauty back. Close walking distance to the boardwalk and downtown shops. Several good restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

Long on charm, short on comfott

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: I was very disappointed with this hotel.
Cons: Lower the rates.
Location: Not close to much.
Old hotel that has no a/c or modern amenities. Both elevators were broken, the restaurant and cocktail lounge were both closed. The room was small and hot and the window had no screens. Insufficient power outlets and no coffee service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Convinent to DT walking.
Cons: Front entrance carpet replaced. Food to replace restaurant not open. Coffee pot in rooms.
Location: Pizza place
We found our room which was a hike for delux double. It was very small and not what we expected for the price. No coffee pot in room , powered creamer or milk for coffee, no extra blanket in room and to top it off no restaurant open. Staying there years earlier this was disappointing. The girl at the desk was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Everything was generally nice about the stay, but it didn't seem like anyone was tending the I breakfast area. There were no knifes to butter bread and the milk was out. It also seems like the layout of the breakfast items was screwy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: quiet, good location
Cons: breakfast selection, cleanliness of rooms
Location: easy access to Redwood National Parks, north and south, coastal trails
rooms were not cleaned properly, breakfast was substandard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Swim at the ocean instead!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: comfy beds & pretty quiet. Small room & small bathroom
Cons: Coffee in room, open restaurant if advertised, heat the pool, you are at the cool part of ca.!
Location: walk historic downtown
middle of summer & pool colder than the pacific & dirty! Th restaurant advertised was closed! I don't drink so I wasn't going to hang out in the bar after 18 yrs sober. No coffee in room, had to go down 3 flights for coffee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Nice historic hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Spacious rooms, nice bar and restaurant. Staff was very nice. My room needed a little more lighting and seating. Overall upkeep was good for such a large old hotel. The hotel was within easy walking distance to old town Eureka and good parking arrangement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Great historic hotel. Terrific staff.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: An easy walk to restaurants of various kinds, the historic section Eureka and Humboldt Bay.
Personal shuttle service by the owner to and from the airport, friendly staff, historic details throughout and very comfortable. A definite and unique choice for staying in Eureka. Avoid a chain and stay at this delightful Inn!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Historic but large rooms

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Cons: WiFi that works
Enjoyed the large rooms and breakfast, but parking was across the street and WiFi too weak to use.