Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Room was fine. Problem was if you wanted internet you had to go to the lobby. I can't do my work there. The room had no cups. The next morning there was no hot water for a shower. Luke warm at best. I stay in Eureka two or three times a year. I will find another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of a kind

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: TV worked okay
Cons: Virtually everything
Location: Good location near old township
Disappointed in condition of hotel. No bell service - we had to drag our luggage. Supposedly had wi fi, but we were unable to connect to it. Clock in room and both bedside lamps were not plugged in and outlets where they could be plugged in were inaccessible. Not at all impressed. Would not consider staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Definitely an older building, but safe, clean, and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great heritage if you can overlook a few things

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The heritage features
Cons: The cleanliness, the staff attitude at breakfast, the breakfast and the smoking area trying to be a pool.
Location: Close to town...easy to walk.
The hotel is a wonderful example of the regions heritage but that is where the fun really ends. Check in was straight forward though we did have to request an extra key (not forthcoming). The rooms are small and ours had hair left on pillows and on the inside of the shower curtain which makes one question how well the rooms are cleaned. The beds were relatively comfortable but the timber headboard on one of the beds creaked each time anyone moved the smallest bit...very annoying during the night. The bathroom was sooooo small! No bench space and little room to do much of anything. The pool area was nice but unfortunately it is also the area they encourage for smoking. We were enjoying a nice afternoon at the pool unwinding after a long drive when people came in and started smoking. We had to leave. The food at the onsite restaurant was nice. And the hotel is close and walkable in terms of town. The breakfast is a waste of time. There was toast but no butter. When I asked I was simply told there was no butter. Who serves toast with no butter? So to sum up...go and check out this hotel when you stay in town as it's beautiful inside the lobby etc. but maybe stay somewhere else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The Glory Days Have Faded

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The history and the Palm Bar
Cons: Paint the front door and hallways. Replace carpet. Better staff front desk and breakfast buffet. But the glory back to the once graceful hotel
Location: Go to The Palm Hotel for drinks, food and music.
Was so excited to stay at this historic hotel, but was greeted at the a rundown front door and carpet. The front desk was understaffed the whole time. When checking out the one poor lady who was at check-out (which you had to do to get your $100 deposit back) was also manning the buffet breakfast which was out of coffee. When you step in the hotel you knew it had glorious days and with some updating and TLC could come back to it's glory. The rooms on the third floor were updated, not sure on other floors. The pool was dirty. The dirty towel bin sat in the hallway the whole time. The highlight was "The Palm" Bar located inside the hotel. The place was hopping by 9pm with good, music, food and the best martini's and cocktails. Nicole was great. I am sure if the investors could make this hotel a priority it could be a destination hotel once again. We write for a travel blog and wished we could of recommended it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville TN

Desperation will take you there

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Used rest room in lobby while husband was checking in. It was filthy, carpet in sink area littered with something, waste baskets were overflowing, one toilet stopped up, toilet paper on floor. I told the staff checking us in. Our tub needed new caulk. Internet did not work, staff said our room was out of range ! Hotel is in dire need of fresh paint and Lord knows what else. Very few hotel options in Eureka. Keep driving if you can.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Large old hotel with loads of character. Centrally located. Room was clean. Oddly updated--work looked unfinished; paint job patchy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nor Cal

Nice historic old hotel.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The rooms are clean and roomy. There were a couple of hiccups, the first room the staff put us in had no towels. I had to go to the front desk to get them. The shower drain was plugged so staff gave us another room. In room number two the sink was plugged. Room number three was just fine. Staff was not very helpful at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folsom CA

Landmark hotel, mostly updated

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The hotel is located downtown, but not in a prime neighborhood. The hotel itself is a 100 year-old landmark and they've done some updating to the rooms but still kept an "old time" feel. Parking is in an open lot across the street to the rear of the hotel which made me a little nervous for the safety of my vehicle overnight. Nothing happened, but I was a little nervous leaving my car out there. Breakfast was donuts, coffee, cold cereal, packaged oatmeal, yugurt cups and apples/bananas. Not spectacular especially since we didn't get done until 9 a.m. and practically everything was gone. Apparently the staff couldn't keep up with the horde of visitors that Friday morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The people were very nice and helpful. Fine place to stay for one night, but pretty expensive for what it is. We had an ant problem in the room and they got all over our stuff.