Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean views

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Food is good and not too expensive. Staff was very attentive to our needs.
Cons: Continental breakfast cereal could have included raisin bran.
It is close to the lighthouse, the neighborhood park, and right on the beach! Superb!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria

Independent hotel located on the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2016
This is a nice independently owned hotel located on a rocky beach in Crescent City, CA. For an independent it had decent accommodations and the location was scenic. It’s within walking distance to a sandy beach. The rooms were a good size. I was a little disappointed in that I paid for oceanfront and although my room faced the ocean side because we were on the bottom floor there was no walkout and you didn’t wake up to an ocean view. Be sure to ask for the 2nd or 3rd floor. The beds were very firm. The free breakfast was good. No eggs but we had waffles, potatoes and sausage for hot and cereals, toast and pastries for the cold side. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and not very crowded.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Gorgeous view on the beach, the rest under average

Posted Jul 25, 2016
+ IF you ordered a room on the beach: view is gorgeous! + right on the beach, you can walk or search for seashell when low tide - Internet was NOT working at all: Able to connect but zero data even after help of manager - Outdated, need complete refresh - Restaurant is horrible!! Expensive and terrible cook. My salmon was a waste and no one in my family member finished his dish because bad. Nobody wanted a doggy bag. - Over priced - Balcony is small and seems unsafe Do not recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from osage iowa

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: close to water
Cons: clean out side up
Location: good
looks bad out side and look out in room needs cleaned
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty outdated

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Toilet problems dirty pillows dirty chest of drawers bed not made properly room at angle - faced parking lots- supposed to be ocean view bar b que outside stunk up our room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for 1 night

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Cons: Outdated room, more outlets
Staff don't have a dress code. The room was on the first floor, close to the restaurant with overpriced food. The whole lobby and first floor smell bad thanks to the restaurant. Room don't have a view, it is outdated with only 2 outlets in the bathroom. The breakfast was fine. If you need a place to stay just for one night...is OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Served its purpose as a place to sleep.
Cons: Cleanliness and friendliness. Seems like they charge a lot of money just for the view.
The location on the beach is a wonderful view, but the staff was not particularly warm or inviting, the pool was murky, and the neighborhood itself was not great. The room was clean enough and the close distance to the Redwood Forest was great. I would look for another hotel next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Great view and walking distance to the lighthouse. Restaurant and lounge in house. Located on the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent Views

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: The view of the ocean
Cons: Bend was a little hard
Excellent Ocean views. One could spend their whole time sitting on the balcony looking at the ocean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Not what we were expecting.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Good location, right on the beach with many tide pools right outside.
Cons: Cleanliness of the bathroom and friendliness of the staff.
Location: Tide pools right outside the hotel. Close to a lighthouse and about five minutes from Jedediah Smith Redwoods Park.
Booked this hotel as it was right on the beach and looked nice from the website. We were not very impressed at all. The bathtub was not super clean and had a mat that was half glued onto the tub resulting in really gross stuff underneath it. I wore flip flops in the shower and would not give my kids a bath in it. Their sheets seemed short and would pull out by our feet every night. Additionally when we asked the front desk for restaurant recommendations in the area, all he would do was recommend the restaurant in the hotel and refused to tell us about anything else.