Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MISSOURI

COULD BE BETTER

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Cons: MAKE A SAFE EASY ACCESS TO THE BEACH.
Location: REDWOOD NATIONAL PARK, COASTAL HIGHWAY
IT WAS A SCENIC AREA BUT BEACH ACCESS WAS FRUSTRATING BECAUSE OF ALL THE DRIFT LOGS BETWEEN HOTEL AND BEACH, AREA TO THE NORTH OF HOTEL WAS RUN DOWN WITH SOME ROUGH LOOKING GUYS HANGING AROUND AT TIMES. BREAKFAST WAS OK IF YOU DON'T MIND PEELING YOUR BOILED EGGS. BETTER BEACHES AT HOTELS TO THE SOUTH OF CITY
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay Away

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing - the only redeeming value was the ocean beach and even that was strewn about with literally no clear walk way down to it.
Cons: Everything; new carpets, new paint, new decor, training the cleaning as well as the front desk staff, new beds. the whole place needs an overhaul
Location: Charter House restaurant best seafood!!! Well worth the wait!!
This hotel looked great to celebrate an ocean view with balcony for our 30th anniversary. As soon as we arrived we noticed how dirty the place was. From the glass in the walk way - the foyer, etc. we checked in and went to our room - 2 queen beds overlooking the ocean. What we found was a tiny room, dingy and over looking part of the ocean with an empty ugly lot for most of the view. We decided to see if we could switch rooms - the only thing they had was queen suite for another $50 a night. We went for it since it was our anniversary. Now mind you this was a suite - $273 for a disgustingly dirty room. Bedspreads were dingy grey - carpet with numerous gross stains, glass windows to the ocean dirty, curtains dirty, no screen for the sliding glass door to the dirty balcony with plexy glass that was filthy as well. Inside the room the microwave had food still stuck inside on the glass round turntable, the bathtub was dirty as well as mold on the soap dispenser growing and all the pictures in the room had fingerprints and literal smudges on them of something and the tables were also filthy. When trying to call downstairs to let the front desk know the phone did not work. The bed was also very uncomfortable - old mattress. The pool was green and cloudy - we opted out of swimming in it not knowing what was growing in the water. We complained as we checked out the next day - the response was non existent. We would NEVER stay here again and NEVER recommend this place to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Oceanfront Hotel was a great place on our road trip. So glad we made the choice to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view of pacific

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Hotel is dated, but well kept. Best part was you could open the window and let the sound of the waves and ocean breeze put you to sleep. That experience was 5 stars!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth $200/night - view & location are great.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
It looks like owner doesn't care about how the hotel looks because its probably booked a lot for the location. But I doubt he gets a lot of repeat business - he won't get mine!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grants Pass Or

Horrible Customer service

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We finally made it to this hotel on 4th of July, after being stuck in traffic for 3 hours. I walked up to the front counter to be told they gave my reservations away, it was about 7pm. The receptionist started my bank card was declined, I had made reservations about two months in advance, and they never once called me, lucky for my family I was able to find another hotel last minute and pay for it with my same bank card.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Etna, CA

Great views but room had problems

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Great views from the room balcony and the restaurant. Food and service in the restaurant was good; a bit pricey the first night but delicious food
Cons: Breakfast bar not the best - fake orange juice was warm and unappealing. Real orange juice is a must!
Location: Right on the beach for easy access for a nice walk.
Great views from the room balcony and nice restaurant with great food and views as well. However, the room itself had a stain on the carpet at the entry, a small stain on the bedspread, uncomfortable bed, broken towel rack, and a broken chair on the balcony - seems the hotel maids/staff do not take care of these things. No, I did not report these things as it seemed more trouble than it's worth, plus when I called down for more towels no one answered at the front desk. For the price, we expected better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great view of the beach!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Location: Close proximity to Redwoods. Favorite restaurant: Apple Peddlers. There is an aquarium next door to it that would be a great place to take children.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Short walk to beach, lighthouse, piers. Great continental breakfast, helpful staff. Room was immaculate and spacious, quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Location!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Beautiful location, right on the beach, and lots of Redwood parks near, one within 10 minutes. The motels nothing fancy but is clean, the staff is very friendly but the management on the other hand is not friendly and is very strict and rude. Don't plan on bring breakfast to your your for your kiddos it is forbidden...Lol. I do recommend just watch your p's and q's
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Nice location and the restaurant area was nice but the rooms are really dated and ours was dirty, needing upgrading badly. The bathroom was gross.