Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Hollywood, CA

Arcata visit

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Customer service, proximity to the university.
Cons: Vending machines werent fully stocked. No water.
We were allowed to check in a bit early. We had a wheel chair with us and were given ground floor rooms. NO Elevator. Staff was very nice and helpful. We were a big group, for lunch we asked if we could use the breakfast facility and they arranged the tables for us to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Pleasant hotel unfortunately shower did not have Adhesives on shower for Cozza media slip and hurt my back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Worst hotel close to nothing.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: EVERYTHING! Cleanliness, room maintenance, room furnishings, staff attitude
Location: There are a few restaurants on the opposite side of the freeway, thank goodness we had a car. Nothing within walking distance.
I am an airline pilot, and have stayed at many hotels over my 20 years. This is by far the worst property I've ever stayed at. Ramada bought and old Quality Inn and put their paint on it, but did nothing else. Hallways are filthy. We were assigned a handicapped access room even though we did not book such. The bathroom had a walk-in shower only, and the shower head hit me about chest-high. Makes washing your hair a contortion adventure. The room entry door bound up in the jamb, and required about 10 lbs of force to latch closed. The bathroom door was a pocket-door slider, squealed terribly, and was so difficult to close I had to help my wife shut it from the outside several times. Window screen was totally blown out and bent. Bedspread was so stained and nasty I felt it should be taken out back and burned. Also, one of those rooms where I didn't want to take my shoes off to walk in it. We complained about the door issues upon checkout, and the extremely rude desk clerk simply said they were aware of the issues in that room and would never assign it to a handicapped guest. They hold it for the booking companies (Expedia), and put those guests there. An absolutely miserable experience. I will never stay Ramada again. I truly wish Expedia would drop their room blocks at this hotel. It is not worthy of guests booking through Expedia, nor any other booking company
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They were very accomodating

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: It was convenient, clean and comfortable.
Cons: breakfast
Location: Go to see the redwoods, go to the beach.
It was a shorth stay but everybody was nice (front desk) and they were helpful and friendly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the midst of changing ownership. Shabby. Needs

Posted May 5, 2017
Non-working phone in the room. Staff could not fix it. Safety issue
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PDX

Tired hotel in need of a great deal of work.

Posted May 3, 2017
But... the staff was nice. Hot Breakfast was good with a nice attendant constantly cruising for refills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HSU VISIT

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I recently stayed at the Ramada in Arcata for a spring preview for HSU. I've never been to the area before, but I assumed a Ramada would be nice, plus it was 6 minutes away from the campus. The stay was wonderful!! The cleaning staff was so kind and accommodating, we loved them. I recommend anyone to stay here. The complementary breakfast was also awesome. Just get there early.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay for an overnight

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This hotel used to be a Quality Inn, but recently became a Ramada Inn. Not much was done to upgrade the hotel with the change of ownership. It is fine for an overnight stay, but would probably not be comfortable for an extended period.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FQuiet Comfortable Room

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Staff, breakfast
Cons: Attention to detail
Location: Easy access off Hey 101
Spent one night in motel. Room was quiet and comfortable. Motel staff should watch for stained bed covers. Beds were quite comfortable. Room could stand some attention to detail (see recent repainting job). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Close to Humboldt, only real positive

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Checking in was fine, room "felt dusty", beds pretty old - basic cheap hotel (only it wasn't cheap). I was there for three nights - room was never vacuumed, trash never emptied, bathroom counter/tub never cleaned/wiped down. Then ironically they call my room at 11:05 because check-out is at 11, because they need to clean the room. Tried to talk to "front desk" about it but it went right over his head.