Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old dirty building.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Building very old and in need of remodel. Floors dirty and walls dirty. Mattress surprisingly newer and comfy. But place needs better cleaning than its get.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Red Roof Arcata is a mess

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: nothing...will never stay there again
Cons: read the experience essay and address accordingly.
Location: Stayed there to move my son into Humboldt State University...
No sure where to start. Place is very old, furniture does not match, no in room fridge, no working ice maker on 2nd floor, carpets dirty and stained. Dresser uneven and propped up with folded pieces of paper (have a pic). Door was evidently kicked in once...not replaced...wood just repaired with a few screws (have a pic). No easily accessible outlets for coffee maker...had to crawl under desk to plug in. TV flickers incessantly,, no channel guide. Is a two floor hotel without a ramp or elevator even in ADA compliant? Paint coming off of ceiling. Staff not rude but not friendly either...no thank you for staying with us...or even the basic pleasantries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northridge, ca

Nice hotel, a little loud

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Over all it was nice, I would stay there again. The only down side was you can hear other guests, the rooms had thin walls. And you can hear people walking through the halls
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
I don't think I'll stay there in the future. I think for what I paid it should've came with a mini refrigerator . Plus the carpet had a wet feeling
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and neat, but...

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Sliding toward being a two-star motel. Wear was evident, and repairs were haphazard. At $125 for a king bed, it was $30 more than the seedy, two star we were at the night before. And, we overpaid the night before by $30. But, it was clean, the sheets were fresh, and the staff was friendly and competent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Easy access to 101 but that's it.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The owner (?) was friendly.
Cons: Larger towels that are soft - these were so scratchy. PLEASE present healthy breakfast options - everywhere serves now and you could be much more comp
We stayed here because we thought it might be better than the Super 6 and it had easy access to 101. The lobby had a terrible odor, the hallways had a different scent that was similar to something laced with sulphur. The room was standard size but the bathroom was very small with aged flooring and no bath mat. Breakfast was the most disappointing, white bread, plain bagels, waffles and almost rotten oranges and one bruised apple. Fake orange juice, I think it might have been Sunny D, and the coffee was pale black...the weakest coffee I have ever been served.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Slept comfortable nice people would recommend to friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Habra

Fearful of taking my shoes off

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The first thing you see is the carpet that is filthy. The bathtub was also filthy. I almost kept my shoes on to bathe. Luckily I travel with Lysol. I was really disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go there!!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The room was filthy. There was blood on the bottom of the door. Not sure what on the bedside table. The bed looked as though the sheets had not been changed from the last guest. We checked out as soon as we could. Did not spend the night. Find another hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is a dump!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The staff at the front desk were reasonably helpful. I felt sorry for them working in such a dismal place.
Cons: This place should be torn down. It was poorly built with no insulation in the walls and between floors. The deferred maintenance is beyond repair.
Location: The location was fine which is why we picked it in the 1st place.
I have been in a lot of discount motels, but this place wins the prize for most deferred maintenance, worst sound dampening, and worst overall condition. The toilet ran for a whole day off and on every 30 seconds. The air conditioning had 2 settings- freezing cold or off. The room looked like it had been trashed by a frat party and the minimum work had been done to fix it. The sink was cracked in many places. The toilet paper holder was moved but they didn't bother to paint over the old site. Although the welcome sign advertised the flat screen TV's, the picture was like 40 years ago with rabbit ears watching the picture through a snowstorm. The noise through the walls was incredible. People walking in the room above you sounded like elephants. The door was so loose that it rattled every time someone entered the hallway. The door card reader wouldn't work. We had to get the clerk to come over and reset it..The people in the hallway sounded like they were walking past your bed. The overall appearance once you got out of the lobby was shabby. The doors and trim showed years of suitcase damage. In short, a dump.