Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 11, 2016
It's close to HSU and the beds were comfortable, clean. Nice staff. Place was quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable, unclean, outdated

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: The one up shot is the location, but there are plenty of hotels on this street, pick another.
The bed was uncomfortable. The bedding old and tattered. Pillows flat. Very old and outdated amenities. Would have been more comfortable sleeping in my car. This hotel needs a major renovation before I would recommend it to anyone I know.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca.

Swindled by /expedia

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The desk clerk tried desperately to get hold of someone at Expedia for nearly an hour.
Cons: Expedia could do their actual job and make good money instead of cheating guests out of money for reservations they never made.
Location: There is a campground on Hwy. 101 between Arcata and Eureka you can stay at when Expedia doesn't have your reservation.
I can't tell you about Super 8 because when I arrived on the evening of the seventeenth of September, They had no record of the reservation I had made through Expedia. All of their attempts to contact Expedia were blocked by Robo calls. They couldn't get anyone. As a result I slept by Hwy 101 in my tent. Then they hit me with a charge for a reservation at Super 8 on the twentieth when I was back in Los Angeles. I have been unable to talk to anyone fluent in English about this situation. This is outrageous and it is the second time they've done this to me. I urge you to never use this incompetent pack of swindlers and thieves.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from flagstaff az

Middle of pack

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Staff friendly and efficient. Next to Mickey D so road noise thru drive until late. Bathroom small. Ok in a pinch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Changed rooms 3 times

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Our first room the air conditioner didn't work and the lady at the front desk obviously knew about it. She asked me if we left the room in good shape where she could rent it to someone else. Our second room smelt so much like weed we couldn't stand it! I wasn't letting my two ur old stay in there. The third room smelt like a sour dish rag, but we either got used to it or it went away finally. The ENTIRE 2nd floor smelt so strongly like an ash tray. It smelt like u were standing right next to several people smoking. Luckily we couldn't smell it in our room, it was only in hall way. The room was a good size and there was eating places within walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 4, 2016
The desk staff was very good but that is the best part of the stay. Very worn furnishings. Smoking rooms smell is in the hallway. Can't recommend this hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon City, OR

Not for families

Posted Sep 3, 2016
We arrived late, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. However, as soon as we entered the upstairs hall the smell of marijuana was overpowering. It seemed to get stronger with each door that we passed. The hall lights kept flickering, and I felt like we were in a bad horror movie. We had a nonsmoking room, but it just smelled like some powerful cleaners had been used to override the smell of pot. On a humorous note, we slept soundly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirtiest hotel EVER

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: It was close to where I needed to be. The receptionist was very helpful.
Cons: Tear this place down, I don't think it can be cleaned.
While the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful, the room was filthy and dated. Asked to borrow an iron and was given one that had broken controls and material burnt on it. Afraid to touch lightswitches or walk on carpet without shoes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manteca Ca

Horrrible You have warned.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Not much, good lady at the front.
Cons: All of it Smokey room, all around dirty, Breakfast sucked.
Location: Many better hotels.
Had to wait 45 minutes at 9:45 pm for the room to be cleaned. Smelled like smoke throughout the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from central valley (hot summer Temps)

centrally located to both north and south sights

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: central location
Cons: breakfast to include diabetic selections
Location: north coast sights......south trees, avenue of Giants, Ferndale Victorian homes... Eureka: Pier, museums, shopping,
A very helpful staff. courteous. comfortable room accommodations. Good area for pets/service dog