Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Good for the price.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
It's an older hotel. Had non smoking room but could smell smoke all night from people smoking outside the window. McDonald's drive thru right next door.could hear upstairs tv pretty clearly. Bathroom was dated. That being said, it was clean. The staff was very friendly and it is in a close location to Arcata plaza and airport. The price made this worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lakeport, ca

Homeless wandering everywhere around hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Terrible! Loud till 4am, partying on both sides of us, people banging on each other's doors till early am hours, people back and forth from room to room. And dogs barking! Grrr, I'm not happy, will not book through expedia again. We couldn't even cancel our second night cause we booke third party. Not ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by super 8 , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback, and thank you for staying with us. Your feedback allows us to better our business
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fontana, CA

smell really bad.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: nothing.
Cons: everything
Location: Hiking is nice, and this place has a beautiful forest.
The hotel needs a renovation. Super 8 Arcata is old, and the room was impregnated with a bad cigarette odour. We made reservation in november 2016, and We asked for a non-smoking room...They didn't care...they gave us a smoking room. I think they took advantage of the important moment that it was happened in Arcata at that date.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by super 8 , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback, and thank you for staying with us. Your feedback allows us to better our business
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

pleasant travel motel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff, clean room, amazing pillows, nice beds, clean, easy access to highway without highway noise., came with a fridge and microwave.
Cons: Bathrooms dated. No problems, just dated.
Location: For us we enjoy just walking thru the older parts of Eureka, nearby beaches, and as we don't usually come in May we enjoyed the wildflower show.
We came for a college graduation and the woman behind the desk was extraordinarily helpful, telling us about the weather (different and worse than we'd been told to expect), other preparations we needed to know, and some other local recommendations. Room was clean, beds comfortable, and it seemed unusually quiet for one in this price range, especially as it was absolutely completely booked. Not a resort place, but nice to stay when one is travelling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback, and thank you for staying with us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada City, Ca

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The staff was great, the room clean and comfortable. It was close to many services.
Location: It was close to many services...places to eat, gas, and highways.
We came to see our son and this is where he was staying. We liked the room and staff. It was a good experience and we will stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Just off the highway - truck stop

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Clean it up ... ban all smoking and call an exterminator.
Location: There were many restaurants nearby ... and it was very close to HWY 101 just south of Humbolt.
We have traveled all over the world and do not need fancy. But we do expect a clean space. The room needed to be wiped down, mirrors were smudged - not with cleaner. And the worst part was that there were ants. Luckily, we only have a few food item that fit into the fridge - which was new and clean. But at one point the entire desk was covered. Also, there were several times during the night when I woke up choking on pot smoke - in non smoking room !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Plumes of marijuana & cigarette smoke.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Other than the marijuana smoke it served the purpose of our stay.
Cons: Enforce smoking rules. I paid for a non-smoking hotel.
Location: Redwood Forest and Humboldt University
The hotel does not enforce the smoking rules. Marijuana and cigarette smoke was a constant fixture during our stay. It was particularly annoying at night when trying to sleep. It would drift into our room from the smoke filled hallway. I paid for a non-smoking hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear about the issue you had when you stayed with us. We have replaced all the seals on the smoking rooms to help keep the smoke in the rooms instead of in the hallway. Unfortunately we do have smoking rooms so we are not a nonsmoking hotel. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience you had at our property.
4 out of 5
by michael

Great stay bad location.

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was overall fine, but the homeless that just hang around are not what you want to see every time you go outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a thrifty budget -- and super nice staff

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Clean and goods friendly staff. Best of all, low price.
Cons: Would like extra blankets in the bedrooms – – the blankets were very very thin and it was a bit cold.
This is a good place to stay if you are on a strict budget. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and the staff was wonderful. The lobby was not that large, but the waffle maker was fantastic and fun to use. On the less positive side, there was where and tear in the room, and although the room did not smell like cigarette smoke, outside in the hallways and lobby it definitely tickled my asthma a bit. Overall I would certainly stay there again simply because the price is right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much transition & cig smoke

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Inaccessible rooms, from one end of building only. Smokers outside bring too much smoke inside. Room had dirty cloth on bathroom floor. No shampoo or conditioner. Were in the process of installing new furniture leaving doors open to freezing cold, and way too noisy. Worst aspect of staying there is only one parking entrance at end of long corridor.