Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable

Posted May 5, 2013
The facility is a little older but it looks as if they are working on updating. This was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on. Had the weather been nicer, there was a nice deck overlooking the beautiful scenery. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristie from Heavener, OK, USA

Wonderful place!

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: The bed! So comfortable!
Cons: Not having an iron or enough coffee!
Location: Relaxing!
The owner was there to check us in and even showed us our room. The owner has only owned the hotel a few months and had updated the furniture.The furnishing were very pleasing and the room was well worth the price. You could tell it was an older hotel by the fridge,stove and jacuzzi tub but all were clean and working. I would recommend with the room having a full kitchen that there was more then 1 package of coffee. Also a iron and hair dryer would be a plus! I would recommend the hotel to anyone and would so stay there myself again. Thanks for helping us celebrate our anniversary!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bobbi from Gibson, TN, USA

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: We liked having the living area and the sleeping area in two separate rooms.
Cons: There was nothing that we did not like.
Location: It was on a main highway with plenty of shopping and not far from the main part of town.
We were expecting a small kitchenette but this one was wonderful. It had a full size stove and refrigerator. It was very quiet and relaxing. It had a T.V. in the living area and the bedroom. We will be sure and go to the Eureka Suites the next time we are in Eureka Springs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eureka Suites Review

Posted Oct 30, 2012
I had a King bed with a small kitchette in it. It was a very comfortable room and had everything I needed. It is located in a great area! The trolley stop is just next door so very little driving was needed. Also, my room was on the backside of the hotel so it was very peaceful and quiet with a beautiful view of the woods. Great place to stay!
3 out of 5
by DEREK from Oklahoma, USA

OMITTED ROOM ITEMS

Posted Oct 29, 2012
ROOM HAD NO TELEPHONE, NO HAIRDRYER, TWO OF THE THINGS THAT WE EXPECTED TO BE IN THE ROOM! WE ALSO THOUGHT THERE WAS TO BE A JACUZZI TUB BUT THERE WASN'T.
1 out of 5
by Betty

Big Mistake

Posted Sep 4, 2012
This is the only hotel that I have been to that will clean your room if you put a hang tag outside the door. Our hang tag was missing therefore it was not cleaned. I had to go to the front desk to get clean towels. This is when the staff told me that I need to hang the tag but did not give me a replacement for our room. He only offered more soap and shampoo with a sorry. My husband got a pain in his neck from the poor pillows so we bought some. We checked out other places while we were in town and found a great place for less money.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We have had many problems in the past with guests not liking our housekeepers coming in their rooms and cleaning without having their tag hanging outside their door, so we ask ALL of our guests to please use the tag if they want services. This is done upon check-in. It even says it on the door and is in very large print so our guest doesn't miss it. In the case that there is no tag, simply ask the front desk for a replacement. This guest had a 3 night stay and on the 2nd night came to the front desk when Bryan, the property manager, was on duty and complained of her room not being cleaned. He promptly stated that we were very sorry for this mistake and asked her if she would like to have it cleaned immediately and she said no. She then stated that she didn't have a tag. Bryan promptly asked her if she would like one and she refused it. So, her statement above is simply not true. We may or may not have had new pillows at that time, but since have invested in new firmer ones. We tried to compliment this guest in every way possible, but was not able to accomodate to her needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan from Arkansas

King Jacuzzi Suite was perfect!

Posted Jul 16, 2012
Pros: Cozzy Room, Nice Jacuzzi, Not too busy, Candles around Jacuzzi
Cons: Lamps instead of overhead lights.
Location: Towards the end of the strip, less traffic!
I stayed in the Kings Jacuzzi Suite, Room 204. This room was perfect for us. When I walked in the door, it smelled like they had just cleaned the carpets. Not in an over-powering way though. I did a very in-depth check of the room. EVERYTHING was clean. They had a lot of little "extra"s in the room, sewing kit, cotton balls, q-tips, etc. Even bath salts for the tub. The shower in the bathroom had one of the rainfall showerheads on it. I didnt see the hotel staff other than during check in/out, but they were very friendly. There was no pool, which was fine because we didn't expect one. TV in living room (which the room was very big) and the bedroom. Everything worked properly. The bed was amazing! I will be staying here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

so....so

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Pros: Kitchen
Cons: Room was decorated with mismatched furniture
Location: Fair
I would rate the hotel 2.5 stars. Appeared clean...no curb appeal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Suites review

Posted May 20, 2012
Needs a TV in the bedroom but other than that it is great. Kitchen comes in handy and location is good and handy to trolleys. Our second visit and we will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

exactly what we wanted.

Posted Apr 7, 2012
We stayed in the jacuzzi king suite and it was amazing. It was just the relaxing get-away we needed. We wish we could have stayed longer to make use of the full kitchen and balcony.