Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Brief stay this time around and check-in was professional and personable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albany ny

Great hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The Homestead is great. Lent me an umbrella and stored my bag before I officially checked in. Breakfast and room were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga.

NU vs. Michigan State Football game

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Nice stay. Nice hotel. Nice breakfast and bar area. Very affordable for this city. Though, our sheets were not changed during our two night stay. There was burnt out light and a non working refrigerator in our room this stay but they both were fixed within 15 minutes of our checking in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value for Grandma Style Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
You feel like you are staying the night at grandma's house with the late 70's style - a little to new to be a historic B&B and a little to frumpy to be Retro. Independent of style, it was a great deal for spacious rooms and a decent breakfast. Without a doubt I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga.

NU Football Weekend

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Love this hotel, location, and price. Very disappointed with the restaurant Hearth. We had 8 o'clock Friday evening reservations which they confirmed with my wife by both email and text. Once we flew in and arrived, we asked to be seated 30 minutes earlier. Unfortunately, there were no tables available, which is quite understandable. We then waited in the lounge area for 30 minutes until 8pm. We were then told by the hostess and restaurant manager that our table was still not ready and that the current diners were only on their second course! They had no idea when our table would be ready! The only other table available was the worst one in the house by the entry door which we refused to take. We cancelled our reservation, proceeded to a competitor restaurant, Boltwood, which was was also full but, they found space and seated us promptly! We will never patronize the Hearth Restaurant. Hotel guests should be treated with finesse and also the restaurant should honor their guests and reservations and not overbook, especially to guests that travel quite a distance to be there and who frequent this hotel often!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and charming

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Very cleaning and charming. Only a few blocks from beach and downtown Evanston. Staff were very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quad Cities

Perfect City Hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Homestead from the moment we pulled up to the minute we left. Nice helpful staff, awesome location and reasonably priced. A gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
This was a wonderful place to stay with a family of four. We've stayed here previously with our dog as well. It's essentially a home away from home. It feels like a condo or apartment rather than a hotel room, which we love. Kind staff and clean rooms. Great location too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice hotel, close to downtown Evanston

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff was friendly and helpful!
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants, shops nearby. Close to Northwestern University. Can get around via Lyft or Uber easily.
We stayed at the Homestead for a night when checking out Hamburger Mary's in Andersonville. It was a short Uber ride away. The hotel is very quaint with a great staff and old time feel while also having a spacious room. The only room available was a queen studio, so it had a small (and actually comfortable) pull out plus a queen size bed with a little kitchen with stove, coffee pot, sink and refrigerator. Windows opened fully, lots of storage (closet, shelves, drawers). Very cute town, very cute hotel would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beachburg

Nice quiet neighbourhood

Posted Oct 10, 2017
If you like retro, this is a good place. It's a walk back in time. Real keys. Small elevator. Room furnishings from my grandparent's time. A pleasant throw back.