Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
This was a wonderful place to stay with a family of four. We've stayed here previously with our dog as well. It's essentially a home away from home. It feels like a condo or apartment rather than a hotel room, which we love. Kind staff and clean rooms. Great location too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice hotel, close to downtown Evanston

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff was friendly and helpful!
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants, shops nearby. Close to Northwestern University. Can get around via Lyft or Uber easily.
We stayed at the Homestead for a night when checking out Hamburger Mary's in Andersonville. It was a short Uber ride away. The hotel is very quaint with a great staff and old time feel while also having a spacious room. The only room available was a queen studio, so it had a small (and actually comfortable) pull out plus a queen size bed with a little kitchen with stove, coffee pot, sink and refrigerator. Windows opened fully, lots of storage (closet, shelves, drawers). Very cute town, very cute hotel would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beachburg

Nice quiet neighbourhood

Posted Oct 10, 2017
If you like retro, this is a good place. It's a walk back in time. Real keys. Small elevator. Room furnishings from my grandparent's time. A pleasant throw back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel saw better days --- decades ago.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Went to grad school in Evanston 30 years ago and this hotel reminded me of my grad school apartment. I wasn't looking for nostalgia. Tired tiles, carpet, furniture. Bathroom only provided 2 towels (for 2 guests; we took 2 showers one day and had to use damp towels the 2nd time). Shower-Bath combo didn't work because the bath tap kept dripping (at 50%) when the shower was on. Took a long time to check in (with no other guest before us). Front desk person seemed new, and on her own. Returned to hotel after 11pm and security card reader wouldn't let us back in. We got lucky that a guest heard us knocking. Not a place I'd recommend if other places in town are available (they weren't when we booked); no wonder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vintage Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The Homestead is an excellent location for downtown Evanston and Northwestern University. It was recently renovated but it is over 90 years old. If you want modern you will be disappointed but if you are willing to accept old vintage charm then you will be pleased. The staff is extremely accommodating and the food in the onsite restaurant that is open for dinner is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from champaign, il

Historical Gem!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Great stay in a beautiful building. The staff (Judy in particular) were super friendly. In the heart of everything yet on a serene street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Unique in Evanston

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I like it because it has a small lobby and reminds me of hotels in Paris. Convenient location and plenty of restaurants and cafee's around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Old and charming ... no ... old and run down.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Old beds, leaky faucets, noisy window ac units, dirty bed spreads, old pillows. Old couch and chairs. Needs a serious renovation. Good space. But it is all rundown. Not worth the money. Not sure who thinks this is a 4/5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A hotel with character, is classy and comfortable.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
A very nice alternative to the business class hotels in town because it is set in a residential neighborhood on a broad tree lined street, near the university campus. The restaurant has a nice menu and is well run.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Staff was un pleasant, rooms were clean but dated and need updating