Ratings based on 827 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Convenience to highway and stores
Cons: Cleanliness. Not cleaned thoroughly each day and sheets and pillow cases not changed during entire 7 day stay.
Disappointed with cleanliness and breakfast was not good tasting at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from terre haute in

concert trip

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: everything but mostly free shuttle service to ford center
Cons: the room we had the air worked but wasnt as cool as i wouldve liked but not a big deal
Location: easy to find and alot of things around
was allowed early check in and staff was pleasant and breakfast was delicious. but the most important ammenity to this hotel is the free shuttle to and from ford center. its a huge asset and it will be the main reason i stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice room and great location.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The people, the room, and the location.
Cons: t The breakfast buffet is terrible. Looks great but the flavor is far far away from good. That's the really weak spot in my opinion.
Location: Location is close to the mall and not real far away from the river and downtown area.
Check in and check out fast and easy. Great room and location for my stay. Will stay again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Everything was great. Exceptional breakfast.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Cons: They did need more staff at the front desk during check-in. One person is not enough to handle many groups trying to check in at the same time.
The hotel was great. We were especially pleased with the price. Good value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
For the money it was a great deal. Right in front of the mall,too
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Hello Tammy, Thank you for reviewing your stay. Howard Johnson is located in the heart of our shopping and entertainment district of Evansville. We offer a great locality to restaurants, shopping centers and entertainment venues. Not only that but our free shuttle will be more than happy to assist you with any drop off or pick up within our city limits. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, TN

Frog Follies

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Close to all we needed
First time staying here but we will be back as very nice & convenient to area
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you James. We truly enjoyed you and look forward to you coming back. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Howard Johnson. We are located near many shopping centers and restaurants. We also have entertainment venues near.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marion Ohio

Convenient location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Stayed here for two nights to explore the area and view the eclipse. Even though it's off a busy thoroughfare it's very easy to get to and relatively quiet. Breakfast was decent and ready even earlier than posted times, the room was clean and Housekeeping did a thorough job. The pool area was clean, however there weren't any towels ready. I had to go back up to the room to get a towel. Check-in was easy even though they were extremely busy with people checking in. This day met our expectations. And I would stay again. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your review of our Howard Johnson. We really enjoyed having you stay here with us and honored to receive such high praise of our hotel. Our staff works diligently to ensure the highest care for our guests from the check in time to check out. We look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Britlandia

Exactly what it says on the tin.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: It was exactly what I needed, simple easy room for the night with no drama.
Cons: Chairs that don't collapse when you sit on them. :-) There were lots of loud kids in the corridor that were completely ignoring their parents.
Location: Bob Evans shares the parking lot. Pretty lackluster service there, but then, it's a Bob Evans so par for the course.
Check-in was easy, room was nice. The office chair collapsed when I sat in it, and I'm not overweight. Didn't use the facilities, but can say that next time I need simple, hassle-free overnight stay, I'd certainly seek this place out again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by carol, Hotel Management
Thank you Token Brit for your response. Thank you for allowing us to serve your needs as you were a guest here at the Howard Johnson. I am disheartened to hear that there was a malfunction with some of the furniture in your room. Our maintenance staff is on hand 24 hours a day to assist each guest if problems arise. Thank you for reviewing your stay. We look forward to seeing you and serving you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Room was more then expected, very spacious clean and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Howard Johnson provides a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker in each room. We appreciate your time. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel - terrible parking

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable
Cons: The breakfast was somewhat disappointing.
Location: mall - food places - and Ford Convention Center 10 minutes away and easy to get to.
We arrived early due to time difference that we were not prepared for. Hottest day of the year - hitting 100. The clerk offered to text us as soon as our room was ready. He did not. I do not like broken promises. When we went back at 3:00 (regular check-in time) - our room was ready - but I am certain it did not JUST get ready.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Howard Johnson appreciates you taking the time to write a review and allow us to address any needs that may arise with not only our guests but our staff as well. 3 pm is our standard check in time to allow our Housekeeping staff to adequately clean each and every room. Cleanliness and comfort are a top priority and we wouldn't want to have your stay less than a positive one. We pride ourselves in providing above average service and try to meet each and every guests request. I do apologize if you felt that we did not meet your needs with your stay. We would like the chance to make your next stay an even better one. We look forward to seeing you again.