Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twin Cities

Great Return Stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Ambience, cleanliness, very nice staff
Cons: Add a cold cereal option and some additional fruit to the buffet.
Location: "Northwoods" location - gateway to great hiking, biking, hunting, fishing, OHV riding, cross country skiing & snowmobiling... Hockey Hall of Fame
To begin, called the hotel to request adjoining rooms and add an infant and pet to the reservation No problem - they were so nice & accommodating, even called us back to make sure they got it right. Checked in in the middle of a large group gathering. Again, no problem - unflappable front desk staffer, even though she was training a new employee. Rooms were clean and mainly well-kept though a few items could use minor repair. Beds were comfortable & lots of pillows & towels. Comfortable & interesting decorating inside and well-tended landscape outside - not your typical national chain roadside lodging. Only 2 minuses - both brought to the attention of the desk, so I'm sure they'll work on it. Due to the full house, the young lady in charge was struggling to keep the breakfast buffet stocked & ran out of some basics like yogurt. Second, the tap water had a musty odor when first run each time - didn't seem to affect the taste or the coffee, but maybe needs attention. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Very nice, clean, affordable Super 8. Nice room with a comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Very nice hotel. The room was comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Great helpful staff. Gave specifics about local attractions and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Clean. Friendly ,surrounded by acceptable restaurants , easy accesd ,and plenty of parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MPLS, MN

great service, no elevator

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Close to everything, even with all the road construction on Hwy 53.
Cons: No elevator to second floor. I use a cane and would not have been able to get up the stairs with suitcases. I did not think to ask when booked.
Location: Boomtown restaurant great and close.
great service - we had a problem with our refrigerator and the staff man for cleaning the room immediately brought a replacement frig and installed. this was Saturday when the maintenance man was not on duty. the regular staff went and fixed the problem.
4 out of 5
by Amanda

missing bathroom door

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel several times, and everything has always been great, so we were surprised to have an issue this time. We weren't sure what to expect knowing that they've been doing some updating (painting, new carpet, etc). When we got to our room we noticed we did not have a door on our bathroom. I went down to the front desk and let the person working know about the issue. He showed me the note he had stating that our room did not have a bathroom door because it had been taken off for painting, but he thought the issue had been resolved. Even though I was there with my family, bathroom privacy is important to us, so I asked the front desk person if he could fix the problem (hang a door, a shower curtain, blanket), and he said he would. We spent two nights at the hotel, hanging the foot blankets from our beds on the sprinkler system to cover the bathroom doorway (not safe, I'm sure, but we had to do something), and nothing was said to us again about the issue and no one showed up to fix it. When we checked out I talked to the assistant manager and he apologized, and said that he would give us a discount on our next stay. We have always been thrilled with this hotel, until this stay. We will stay here again...hopefully with some privacy next time! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eveleth Mn.

Love this place!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Perfect location to spend the night before Cansda.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Nice easy access lodging.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast started before most so we could eat and leave by 5 am. Rooms were in excellent shape but were on the small side. Access to the main highway was easy. Overall a nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
by Harold A

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Generally, all was fine except the bathroom floor in the pool area was so slippery I fell onto the floor and bruised my ribs and thigh. I recommended to the management that they install slip-resistance flooring. I sure hope that my advice is taken!!!