Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice rustic area, but a bit strange.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
It's an odd place. A residential hotel with boaters. It's very out of the way unless you're looking to explore the swamp, which we were. There are not many restaurants around. The hotel restaurant was expensive with not so special food. The glassware and silverware were very dirty. Breakfast was ok but uninspired. nothing hot, but they had some cold hard boiled eggs, bananas and oranges along with toastables. Room had grime embedded in the floor tiles which needed a good scrub with acid, but the area was otherwise well tended and clean. Nice, large and clean shower. Bed was spongy soft. Staff and restaurant servers were helpful and friendly. It has a gym and a nice pool. Overall it's a nice place with nice staff. not as clean as home, but it's the Everglades and that's why we went, to see all the wildlife. There were manatees, alligators and Dolfins swimming in the marina just outside our door!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Proximity to everything
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: Located near Marco island. Naples and Airboats
We were booked to stay two nights but liked it so much we stayed an extra day. It is located near both marco island and Naples and we enjoyed visiting both places. We also had fun on the swamp buggy, alligator farm and air boats. Breakfast was limited but good. The marina, pool and entranceway were terrific it is also very clean and has comfortable beds but a bit outdated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from western MA

Location and lobby but not the roos

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location to the Everglades. Central lobby.
Cons: Access to help after 10 pm. See the information above.
Location: Only about half an hour from the National Park in one direction, and downtown Naples in the other direction.
Location for access to the Everglades made this attractive. The lobby was very inviting and the beds were very comfortable. Staff was friendly. BUT We had three rooms for our family - each room had issues. Two couples in the main lodge had no hot water for showers. In addition the entry key did not work for one room at 10:30 at night and the off-site manager had to come to fix the situation. Others in the hotel had the same issues. The other room had difficulty with the heat and fan and tried the phone number and reached the answering machine to be told it would be addressed in the morning. The couple in the cottage had a hard time finding the right room because of the confusing numbering and the darkness. This room also had a faulty heater that set off the fire alarm and required staff intervention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thanks but no thanks

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Stayed Dec 29 2016 - Jan 3 2017 Pros: Price, Location (~20 miles to Marco & Downtown Naples), Nice pool, Check-in staff Cons: Old room smelling like cigarettes either from previous guests or the guy in room 158 whom I did not see without a cigarette in the 5 days of staying there, who also liked to watch the TV from midnight to 7 AM, which we could hear all night. Not sure how much cleaning was done in the room. Continental breakfast included more options which were limited in last 2 days (ran out of bananas, oranges, etc.) Dirty plates and silverware. Wifi limited even in the lobby for us. Would not recommend to stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to sincerely apologize that our resort did not meet all of your expectations during your recent visit. Guest comfort and satisfaction remain our top priority and we apologize for any frustrations encountered during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly use your experience to focus on areas in which we may improve. Sincerely, Gary Locke – General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location near to state and national parks/preserve

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The landscaping around the main building, pool, and bungalows is very pleasing.
Cons: Provide a quieter heating/cooling unit. Improve desk staff's attitude.
Location: Location is very close to both state and national parks and preserves and bird watching sites.
Check-in individual was not focused on my check-in. Gave me the check-out slip for someone else for me to initial and sign as my check-in; check-out staff was indifferent to me being there or not. Cleaning personnel did a fine job daily on my room. Only downside of my room (a bungalow outside the main building) was a very noisy heating/cooling unit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. While we’re glad you enjoyed our beautiful property grounds, we’re disappointed to hear certain aspects of our resort did not meet your expectations. I’d like to sincerely apologize if any of our team members were not representative of the superior level of customer service we take pride in. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will certainly use your experience to focus on areas in which we may improve and continue our efforts to provide the best service possible. Sincerely, Gary Locke – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A pleasant surprise

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Nice shape/size pool surrounded by shrubs giving a tropical feel. This was the stand out feature my family enjoyed. Also right on the marina which is v picturesque and made an interesting evening stroll as a few gators were swimming about and you could get close on the jetty's. Really friendly locals and other residents we crossed paths with on our short stay. Food was on the pricey side but this is the only place to eat around here so not a surprise and quality was average.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo BC

Stuck in the 80's

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Was fairly quiet.
Cons: See above regarding our experience.
Location: After about a 15-20 minute drive you can got to Everglades City which had a lot of awesome stuff to do.
When we got there and walked into the lobby I was in awe of the overall look. After further looking it hit me that all of the decor reminded me of the 80's. The reception was okay...maybe she could have been a bit more welcoming. The restaurant was okay, but the salad bar was nothing more than iceberg lettuce with a bit of veg. The hotel seemed a bit run downed and tired. The best I can say that it was a bit overpriced for what we got. We saw some people struggling with their luggage as no elevator.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel in need of renovation

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The lobby is grand in scale but the furnishings are 1980 rattan which didn't support the massive fireplace and seemed awkward. The room was dark and the bathroom tiny (also decades old). The continental breakfast tasted leftover. Staff was pleasant but overall we probably wouldn't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay. We’re disappointed to hear certain aspects of our resort did not meet your expectations. Guest comfort and satisfaction remain our top priority and we will certainly use your experience to focus on areas in which we may improve. Sincerely, Gary Locke – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

A very pleasant, out-of-the-way resort

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for us, the price was reasonable, the facilities were attractive and the boat tour right there was very convenient.
Cons: Exterior paint on the outer area exteriors
Location: The boat tour of the 10,000 Islands Refuge was very good. There are swamp buggy and airboat rides a few miles away.d
The hotel is very nice with nice grounds, a good restaurant, a nice big pool, and boat tours of the Ten Thousand Islands Refuge right from the hotel. It is nicely positioned for visiting the western Everglades. The room was clean and modern. We were certainly happy there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Rooms are a bit dated, shower had no power, food was good, service was slow, good music in bar but too loud.