Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice location

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Pretty water view and screened porch. Price was reasonable
Cons: Villa needs updating - worn out fixtures and furniture, but clean.
Location: Airboat tours
Nice location on River but villa is 1970s vintage - really needs updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, UK

Magical experience

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect.
Cons: The rooms are a little dated, but perfectly good.
I had a single night here as I traveled through South Florida, but the experience of sitting on the veranda watching (and listening) to dawn break was magical. I arrived late, so the room was set up for me to move in (with a note taped to the office door), and I left before the office opened so I was left to my own devices. This was perfect for me, but may not suit everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016
the view from the room was beautiful.very good location. the staff was very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good.....needs maintenance

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Accommodations were fine. Plenty of space and staff was helpful however not available 24hrs. But the rooms were outdated and needed maintenance. Also had and issues were a step on the porch was rotten and broke through. They quickly replaced it though. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from bath, england

Exploring the Everglades

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The room looked out onto the mangroves with loads of bird life like pelicans and we had a magic dawn with the sun peering through the early morning mi
Location: Great location for seeing the mangroves and if you are lucky (we were not) you might see a manatee
We were having a problem with our rental car and although the staff couldn't help us directly they were very patient while I tried contacting the rental agency. They also gave us good tips for trips and eating out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

A pleasant surprise

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Everglades City as a whole could use some updating. To me it was like going back 50 years in time to fishing camps I visited as a kid. In light of that the River Wilderness Villas were pleasantly surprising. Clean, roomy, equipped with everything needed to make your own meals if desired, and even with the fastest wifi that we encountered on our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Home away from home

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The space, the porch, the view
Cons: updating....but had all we needed
Location: Everglade Airboat Ride was the best in the area (Speedys) GREAT
Great view and wildlife. Like a home, living room, dining, bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, screened in porch. yes, a bit outdated but perfect for your relaxing adventures in the Everglades. We hope to go back some day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

1960's and run cheap

Posted Dec 21, 2015
The rooms are clean and the view is good but that ends it. It looks like the rooms haven't been updated since the 60's. Two towels for 2 people and no toiletries. You have to call the front desk and check out hair dryers and irons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
A nice place to stay. The decor was 80's but otherwise it was fine. I love having a refrigerator and stove! Shop before you get to Everglade city as the grocery store is limited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Pete, FL

Breathtaking view of sunrise

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: The view from the porch towards the lake was just magical.
Cons: They could obviously upgrade the rooms. I don't know how much business they get.
Location: One restaurant in the walking distance is very good: City Seafood.
I would stay there just for that. It was magical. We went in September. no-see-ums and mosquitoes were plenty. The room was clean, but furniture fairly old. Towels were clean, but they looked old. They accepts pets for free. Our room smelled dog.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2015 by myrn, Hotel Management
Glad to hear your comments. Most of our furniture is new within the last 3 years. Sorry you got towels that looked old and room smelled like dog.. We DO CHARGE for pets and are very careful about the smell. Please do not hold that against us. Thanks