Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be back

Posted Sep 5, 2016
We get there and the guy told is there would be a band playing until 9pm and we tried to sleep. They didn't stop playing until 11pm. It's nothing but a bar. So if ur just wanting a place to stay I don't recommend this place. The rooms were clean though and nice. But not the atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic but isolated

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is very pleasant. The hotel is old and historic, but in need of modernization and updates. WiFi didn't work in our room, we had to go to lobby to get it to work. The hotel is very isolated from anything else in Evergreen.
5 out of 5
by andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
The hotel was much more secluded than what we were comfortable with. There was no parking except across the busy highway. Our room was clean and bed was comfortable. The sheets and one towel had holes one through them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne, WY

Rustic hotel in a scenic area

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Food, entertainment. Hotel and rooms were decorated and furnished with an old west flavor.
Cons: New mattresses, move the smoking areas away from doors and windows.
Location: Hiking
My wife and I stayed in the Baroque one night in late July. The hotel is about 8 miles from town and easy to get to. Parking is mostly across the street and you need to be careful when crossing. The hotel is old and shows its age. However, it was like going back in time (a time before air conditioning). I read a lot of reviews before our stay, so I brought a small window fan to help cool the room. There was a ceiling fan in the room and between the two we stayed pretty cool. There are no screens in the windows. Surprisingly, we didn't have a bug infestation. Our room faced west so we stayed away until after the sun went down. The bed was not very comfortable and we didn't sleep very well. The room faced the road so there was the noise of the revelers and vehicles (i.e. Harley Davidsons). The window fan helped to drown out the outside noise. Even though the hotel was smoke free, cigarette smoke permeated the hotel because all the doors were open and the smokers were right outside. There are some nice hiking trails nearby. Our waitress, Pam, was very helpful. Dinner for the two of us was $40 plus the tip (included two drinks from the bar). The food was pretty good. There was live music on Friday night and the artist was pretty talented and entertaining. I said I wouldn't recommend this hotel because most everyone I know wouldn't like staying here. It was a neat experience, but I probably wouldn't stay there again
5 out of 5
by Mark from Monument, CO

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Brook Forest Inn is what you find when you are looking for a real Colorado mountain hotel experience. You will find yourself off the grid since phone and internet are non-existent. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is excellent. The staff seemed always ready to get to know and chat with us. This isn't the kind of place to go if you're looking for all the modern conveniences like elevators or air conditioners (even hotels in Vail don't have conditioning), but it is a great place to go if you're looking to connect with your significant other. Go with the right attitude and you will love your stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverton, WY

Very remote, no cell service, wifi didn't work

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The outside of the building is pretty, and the setting is lovely.
Cons: Be more honest about what the facility is like. I would have stayed in Denver if I had known.
Location: Mountainous with a narrow winding road. The restaurants are limited and also don't open early--no breakfast before 8 am.
The hotel is up a narrow winding road and there is no cell service. The wifi never did work for me. I was looking forward to a relaxing stay, but the room was very small, had no bath tub (just a shower), the shower door didn't close tightly so there was water all over the floor, and I kept hitting my head on the wall that slanted over the bed and chair. There was no air conditioning in the room. If you want to feel like you are camping, but get to sleep on a real bed and have a shower in the morning, then it's ok. They claim to have continental breakfast, but they just set out a little basket with a few pieces of fruit and granola bars and that's it. If you're up before 7, you can't even get a bucket of ice since you have to get it from the front desk, which is not manned earlier in the morning. I would not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old tradition in need of basics.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Location: Evergreen is a great little town. Charming lake and great golf course.
Hotel supposed to be non-smoking, but could not get inside the front door without multiple smokers in the front porch. There is no internet. Rooms are poorly furnished. Lots of road noise. The best part is the tables and chairs in back along the creek. Food was OK, but they closed early Sun night when we needed dinner.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Loveland, CO

Great "comfortable" get-away

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were terrific, very personable and quick to make you feel like and "old friend" right from the start. They had live music, EXCELLENT food (chef prepared....no microwave entrees), and a great mix of guests. They were a little thin on staff that night, so wait times for food, drink, etc... got long and is the only thing keeping this review from a 5 star. I will definitely be going back!
2 out of 5
by Philip from Lexington

Needs a lot of TLC

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Incredibly overpriced. When they say historic they really mean old and run down. The positives: it's within 10 miles of Evergreen Negatives: no air-conditioning which isn't an issue except for the fact that it's right beside it Road and their cars run along at all night long. If you do open your windows you can also visit your neighbors since the windows share a common balcony. Did I mention it was rundown?